Use critical thinking skills when deciding whether an article is appropriate to use.

Consider the following:

• RELEVANCE
  • Check the Date: Is the information current or timely for your topic?
  • Read the Abstract: This usually provides a summary of the article.
  • Scan the Headings & Subheadings: These will provide an outline of the work.
  • Read the Conclusion: The last few paragraphs in a journal or magazine article often restate the main argument, important questions and major findings.
  
   
• RELIABILITY
  • Purpose: Is the intent to inform, entertain, persuade or educate?
  • Author: Does the author have expertise on the topic?
  • Objectivity: Are various sides or points-of-view represented? 
  • Bibliography: Are the author's sources of information cited completely?

Criteria list taken in whole from:
Howard, Rebecca Moore. Writing Matters: A Handbook for Writing & Research. Customized for Marquette University. New York: McGraw Hill, 2010. Print.

The Web has little quality control and critical evaluation of internet sites is crucial. Some criteria to use when examining a Web site are:

Authority

• Is the document author or site sponsor clearly identified?
• Does the site provide contact information for the author or sponsor?

Objectivity or clear disclosure of advocacy

• Is the site's purpose clear (for example, to inform, entertain or persuade)
• Is the site explicit about declaring its point of view?
• Does the site indicate whether it is directed toward a specific audience?

Coverage

• Are the topics covered by the site clear?
• Does the site exhibit a suitable depth and comprehensiveness for its purpose?
• Is sufficient evidence provides to support the ideas and options presented?

Accuracy

• Are the sources of information stated?
• Do the facts appear to be accurate?
• Can you verify this information by comparing this source with other sources in the field?

Currency

• Are the dates included in the website?
• Is the information current, or at least still relevant for the site's purpose? For you purpose?

Criteria list taken in whole from:
Ramage, Bean and Johnson. The Allyn and Becon Guide to Writing. 5th Ed. Customized for Marquette University. Boston: Pearson Education, Inc., 2009. Print.

Background information is the foundation upon which you build good research.

Reading background information allows you to quickly learn more about a subject and help you make informed decisions about how to approach your research and select reliable sources.

Background reading will help you:

• Identify key concepts, names, events, authors, terms, etc. associated with your topic.
• Determine whether your topic is too narrow or too broad.
• Figure out if there is consensus or controversy surrounding your topic.
• Understand the historical context and relationships to other topics.
• Find potential articles & books in bibliographies.

 Articles appear in publications called magazines, journals, periodicals, and newspapers.

Use articles to find:

• The most recent research on a topic
• Coverage of very narrow (or specific) topics
• Coverage of current events
• Contemporary accounts of past events and research

Books are useful for:

• in depth information,
• historical context,
• overview, synthesis and analysis.

Often a chapter or two are all that is needed. The process of writing, editing and publishing means even the most recently published book may not contain the most current information on a topic.

There are many eBooks available for students to access from home.