RefWorks: Connect to Refworks

Links and help information regarding RefWorks

Need Help?

Ask Us!

Contact Us

Connect to Refworks - New and Legacy versions

Just starting with RefWorks?  Use New RefWorks!

Previous (Legacy) RefWorks users, before converting to the New RefWorks be sure to read about the changes!

Also be aware that previous (Legacy) RefWorks accounts will be discontinued at some point in the near future.  If you are still using Legacy RefWorks, be sure to migrate to the New RefWorks soon.  Click here to find out more information about how to migrate your Legacy RefWorks account to a New Refworks account.

On Campus Users

Connect to Legacy RefWorks

PLEASE NOTE: at some point in the near future, Legacy RefWorks accounts will be DISCONTINUED by RefWorks.  This means that before Legacy RefWorks accounts are discontinued, you will need to migrate your Legacy RefWorks account to a New RefWorks account.   Failure to do so will result in losing ALL references, attached article PDFs, and any customized citation styles that you have stored in your  Legacy RefWorks account(s).

Click here for instructions on how to migrate your Legacy RefWorks account to a New RefWorks account.

To begin migration of your Legacy RefWorks account into a New RefWorks account, log into your Legacy RefWorks account and click on the link that appears in your account:

Follow the instructions on the screen.  You will be asked to create a New RefWorks account.   You must use your Marquette email address. 

For a video version of how to migrate your references see:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vxcejyKCB5g  .

There is a second method of how to migrate your Legacy Reference account to a New RefWorks account. Follow second set of instructions at:  https://proquest.libguides.com/newrefworks/importing .

 

Troubleshooting issues with Write-N-Cite.

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography database manager that allows you to collect, organize and manage a personal database of book and article  citations.

With RefWorks you can:

  • Create bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles including APA, Chicago Manual of Style, MLA, etc.
  • Export references from article databases into your Refworks database;
  • Generate in-text citations and bibliographies as you type your documents.

Write-N-Cite - What is it?

For Windows users with Word 2016, RefWorks has an additional feature called Write-N-Cite which allows you to cite the references stored in your RefWorks account while you are typing your research paper in MS Word.  RefWorks will insert the citation in your paper as well as create a bibliography for your paper in the citation format you have selected. 

Click here for  information on how to download Write-N-Cite from your RefWorks account to your Word 2016 on a Windows machine.

Unfortunately, Mac users with New RefWorks accounts who are using Word 2016, will not able to use Write-N-Cite.  However, another option is available: RefWorks Citation Manager.  

Another option that Mac users with Word 2016 have for creating bibliographies is Quick Cite.  You can create the citations in RefWorks and then, paste them into your paper.