RefWorks: Write-N-Cite

Links and help information regarding RefWorks

Mac Users with Microsoft Word 2016

Write-N-Cite is not fully compatible with Word 2016.  Download an add-in called "RefWorks Citation Manager" from the Microsoft Office Store

Alternative Write-N-Cite options for Word 2016 Mac Users

Unfortunately, Mac users are NOT able to use the Write-N-Cite feature when using Word 2016. Instead, RefWorks recommends that you use RefWorks Citation Manager which is an add-on for Word 2016 available at no charge from the Microsoft Office Store.  Click here for more information and instructions.

Another option for Word 2016 users is to use RefWorks Quick Cite to create citations in your documents.  (Note: this works only with citation styles that are alphabetic and  do not contain numbering such as AMA, Vancouver, NLM, etc. An additional  drawback in using the Quick Cite system is that you will not later be able to change citation styles in your documents.) 

 

Write-and-Cite for Microsoft Office 365 Users

The current version of Write-N-Cite 4 for Windows IS COMPATIBLE with Microsoft Office 365. However, there are several requirements:

You must have the latest full desktop version of Microsoft Office 365  (including Word 365)  installed on your machine.  You must then restart your computer  before Write-N-Cite for Windows can be installed.
 
If you are not able to use Write-N-Cite on your machine, you can use an alternative, One Line Cite which will also create citations in your paper and create bibliographies.

See below for more information about One Line Cite.

Write-N-Cite 4.4.1376 for Windows Users

If you are using Microsoft Word 2013 on a Windows machine, the Raynor Memorial Libraries  recommend downloading and installing the new Write-N-Cite 4.3.1217 software.

To install Write-N-Cite 4.4.1376  on a Windows machine:

1. If MS Word is open on your computer, close it. 

2. Log into your RefWorks account.

3. Click on Tools at the top of the screen.

4. Click on Write-N-Cite.  

      You will get a pop-up screen which contains the following:

Example Write-N-Cite download screen

 

5. Click on Write-N-Cite 4 for 64 bit or 32 bit Word, to match your version of the software.

6. Click on Run when you get the following message:

      Do you want to run or save WnC4Install32_4.4.1376.exe from download.refworks.com ?

7.  Write-N-Cite 4.4.1376 should now be installed on your machine.

 If you are not familiar with downloading and installing the new Write-N-Cite 4.4.1376 for Windows on your machine, please watch the following video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lL_OyAJLpPI

Write N Cite for Word 2011 Mac Users

For Mac users with Word 2016, click here.

For Mac users with Word 2011, click on the Other Versions link, and you will see the following:

Be certain that you have MS Word closed.
Click on the above link to begin installing Write-N-Cite 4 on your Mac.

Follow the instructions as they appear on the screen.

Write-N-Cite Help

Having problems?  Here are three common reasons for difficulties using and/or installing RefWorks and Write-N-Cite:

1.  Pop-up blockers may prevent RefWorks or Write-N-Cite from working properly.  Below are links to directions on how to allow individual pop-ups for commonly used browsers.

Firefox
Internet Explorer
Safari
Chrome

2.  Toolbars and add-ons may also interfere by blocking pop-ups. 

Google Toolbar
Yahoo! Toolbar

3. Firewalls/security settings may need to be configured to allow connections to Write-N-Cite.

Configuring Norton Internet Security for Firefox
Mac OS X v10.5, 10.6

Windows XP Firewall

Click here to see if your computer and software is compatible with Write-N-Cite.

If your equipment is not compatible with Write-N-Cite, you are still able to create citations/footnotes/endnotes and bibliographies with RefWorks.  See: One Line Cite View

Writing Your Paper Offline

Write-N-Cite - Older Versions

Write-N-Cite 3 can still be used with older versions of MS Word and older operating systems.

This RefWorks page provides links to the different versions and download instructions. There are versions for Windows and Macs.

Additional Troubleshooting Information

Q. I am trying to create my bibliography using Write-N-Cite, but I get an error message saying: Reference Number XXXX was not found in your database. What does this mean?

A: It appears that in your Word document, you may have cited a reference that is no longer in your RefWorks account or there is an error in the reference number:

To remove this citation from your Word document:

  1. Have your Word document open.
  2. Go into your Write-N-Cite account.
  3. Click on Tools in WNC and select Display Unformatted Citations.
  4. Click on Unformat.
  5. Go back into your Word document.
  6. Do a Control-Find (hold down the Control key and press the F key) for the reference number.
  7. Upon finding the reference, highlight the entire reference and press delete.
  8. Save your Word document.
  9. Go back into Write-N-Cite and click on Bibliography and select your citation output style. Then press Create Bibliography.
  10. The bibliography should now successfully be created and all the citation references within the paper should appear.

Q: What do I do if I get a 'length' is null or 'not an object' error message when I create a bibliography with Write-N-Cite?

A: To solve the problem:

  1. Have your Word document opened and click into Write-N-Cite.
  2. In Write-N-Cite, mouse over Tools at the top menu, then, click on Revert to W-N-C v. 2 Document.
  3. Once complete, save the Word Document and keep the document open.
  4. Go back to Write-N-Cite, and mouse over Tools again.
  5. Choose the Convert to WNC III Document.  Once complete, save your Word document again.
  6. The bibliography and citations should now be created successfully.

Additional trouble-shooting information is available in Write-N-Cite Help

Additional trouble-shooting information is available in RefWorks Help

If you have questions or run into problems, contact the Raynor Library Information Desk.

If you are not able to use Write-N-Cite, use alternative One Line Cite

One Line Cite (alternative to Write-N-Cite)

If you are not able to use Write-N-Cite on your machine, you can still insert citations and create bibliographies in Word by using RefWorks' alternative, One Line Cite.

How to use One Line Cite:

To cite a reference in your paper do the following:

  • Select One Line/Cite View from the Switch to drop-down menu listed just below the RefWorks navigation.

  • Click on the Cite link next to the appropriate reference.  A Citation Viewer window will appear containing the citation formatted like {{54 Johnson;}}.

  • To cite a second reference in the same location just click on the Cite link by any other reference.  (If you are using a Macintosh, you will need to click twice – the first click will activate the RefWorks program the second will perform the Cite function.  This is due to Macintosh functionality not the RefWorks program.)

  • Once you have all of the references you need for a particular in-text citation, click on the Select Citation button.

  • Perform a Copy command or simply drag and drop the citation into your word processor document.

  • Go to your word processor, click on the document where you want the citation inserted and Paste the citation.  To modify your in-text citations or footnotes using Switches, click here.

  • Be sure to Clear the Citation Viewer window before creating your next citation.

Click on the View link to see the entire reference and to access the Edit command if you want to make changes.

Editing Citations

Some Output Styles require that a specific page be included in an in-text citation.  Others require that the author name be left out of the citation if the name is included in the text.  RefWorks cannot determine a specific page number for a reference or know when an author name is in the text.  You can, however, manually instruct the program to exclude or include certain items in the citation through the use of in-text switches.  Click here for information on using switches in your in-text citation or footnote.

To create your bibliography and format your paper:

  • Save the document you have just created before formatting the paper and the bibliography.

  • Click Under Document to Format, select the file for the paper you just created; you can browse for it by selecting the Browse button on the Bibliography button from the Citation Viewer window or from within the RefWorks program.

  • Select the appropriate Output Style from the list and select Format Paper and Bibliography.

  • Under Document to Format, select the file for the paper you just created; you can browse for it by selecting the Browse button.

Note:  Your paper must be saved as a .doc, . docx, .odt or .rtf file in order for RefWorks to be able to read and format it.

  1. Click Create Bibliography.  RefWorks creates a new document formatted in the selected style followed by a bibliography  (even if you have used Write-N-Cite III to insert the temporary citation place holders).

  1. Follow your browser's instructions for viewing the file and be sure to save the document to your hard disk before closing. Your original document remains the same as it was before you formatted it.

Note:
All changes to the document should be made to the original document. Only the original document with the citations in curly brackets may be reformatted later.

Note:
If your bibliography fails to generate, click here for troubleshooting tips.

Email it: After the bibliography is created you may also email the list.  The email address in your RefWorks account is automatically entered, but you can overwrite it with another address.  Only one email address can entered.

  1. To change the document format follow the same steps and choose a different Output Style. Try two different formats - Harvard, which is based upon author last name, and Nature, which is a numbered bibliography (the same as creating end notes). To create a paper with footnotes try the Chicago Notes format.