Biblical Studies: Book Search

Guide to help you find library resources to help with studies of the Bible.

Need Help?

Why Books?

Books are useful for:

in depth information,
historical context,
overview, synthesis and analysis.

Check the table of contents: often a chapter or two are all that is needed.

St. Thomas Aquinas

Ambrosius Benson, "St. Thomas Aquinas, Philosopher," Painting, Museo del Prado Madrid. (16th century): Art Museum Image Gallery.

MARQCAT Search

Tools: Advanced Search

Collections of Encyclopedias etc. for Religion

Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies
Unlimited user license. Published in 2006, edited by J.W. Rogerson and Judith M. Lieu.

Oxford Bibliographies Online - Biblical Studies from Oxford Press This link opens in a new window
Developed cooperatively with scholars worldwide Oxford Bibliographies Online - Biblical Studies includes new discoveries, methodologies, and perspectives continually being brought to bear on the interpretation of the Bible.
Oxford Handbooks Online - Religion from Oxford Univ. Press This link opens in a new window
Full-text handbooks from Oxford UP covering the major areas of religion. Marquette does not have access to all titles in this collection.

Oxford Scholarship Online - Biblical Studies
Searchable by keywords, author, and title, this source contains full-text books in the area of Biblical Studies.

ProQuest Ebook Central from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Over 27,000 full-text titles available in 15 broad subject categories.
Twentieth Century Religious Thought Volume I: Christianity from Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable online database of seminal works and archival materials related to key worldwide religious thinkers.

New Theology Books

Click below to see a list of the Theology titles added to our collection during the last month:

List of recently acquired books
Updated on the 15th of each month.

MARQCAT Advanced Keyword Search

Please fill in the form, select limits, and click Search

Field Limit 1 Search Text 1 Boolean 1 Field Limit 2 Search Text 2 Boolean 2 Field Limit 3 Search Text 3 Boolean 3 Field Limit 4 Search Text 4
Collection:
Location:
Language:
Year:	After and Before Before Year
Publisher:
Material Type:
Search and Sort:

Theology E-books

Check out the theology e-books available to Marquette students and staff.

Search Google Books

Searches books in the Google Books project. Identifies and ranks books with relevant content. Click on book title/cover for more information including a 'Find in a Library' which will locate nearby libraries with the book and provide a link to search MARQCAT. If the book is out of copyright and in the public domain, the full text can be viewed.

Read a short article on Google Books in Wikipedia.

Search other Libraries

Look for books and other items in libraries near and far. Most items you find may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

WorldCat from OCLC This link opens in a new window
Searches library catalogs in the US and around the world.
It is produced by the OCLC Online Computer Library Center and includes catalog records for books, manuscripts, computer data files maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals, sound recordings, magazines, videotapes. WorldCat does not include book chapters or individual articles, or articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers.