Biblical Studies: Primary Texts

Guide to help you find library resources to help with studies of the Bible.

Need Help?

Art Work

Jean Gaudin, "Main Crypt Altar with Mosaics" and Dom Marie-Bernard, OCSO, "St. Therese of the Child Jesus," Basilica of Saint Therese, Lisieux. (Early 20th Century): Art Museum Image Gallery.

Primary Resources Databases

Acta Sanctorum from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of the Acta Sanctorum (Acts of the Saints). Includes volumes published between 1643-1940.
The source text for the database is that of the original edition, recommended by the Société des Bollandistes, and not the later incomplete editions published in Venice in 1734-1760 and by Palme in Paris in 1863-1870.
Bibloi (formerly Bible Windows) from Silver Mountain Software This link opens in a new window
Available only on Library PCs. Bible concordance and reference software. Includes Greek, Hebrew, Latin, and English language versions with reference dictionaries.
Bibleworks 10 from BibleWorks This link opens in a new window
Available only on Library PCs. A software program that provides original language versions of the Bible with lexicons, dictionaries, and more.
Includes 90 Bible translations in 28 languages, 9 original language texts with 7 morphology databases, 6 Greek lexicons and dictionaries, 4 Hebrew lexicons and dictionaries, and 11 practical reference works.

Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Full-text English or English translations of Christian writings from a variety of time periods. Searchable by keywords, authors and titles.
Digital Karl Barth Library from Alexander Street Press
Full-text of Barth's Gesamtausgabe. Also includes the Kirchliche Dogmatik in both German and English and other writings.
Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts from Alexander Street Press
Full-text of important documents of the Reformation and post-Reformation eras. 1500-1700.
more...less...
Written by more than 300 Protestant authors, includes theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, and polemical treatises.
Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation from Alexander Street Press
Full-text of important documents of the Catholic Reformation. 1500-1700.
more...less...
Includes papal and synodal decrees, catechism inquisitorial manuals, biblical commentaries, theological treatises, liturgical writings, etc.
Index Thomisticus (Web version) from Fundación Tomás de Aquino
Full text (in Latin) of the works of Aquinas and 61 other related Latin works; also includes a bibliography of the studies on Aquinas and his doctrine, 13th century - present.
more...less...
Also called "Thomae Aquinatis opera omnia".
IntraText Digital Library
Full text of religious, philosophical, literary, and scientific books, periodicals, complete works and archives. Available in more than 30 languages.

Library of Latin Texts from Brepols This link opens in a new window
Full-text of critical Latin texts. 1501-1965.
When prompted to “select your login preferences,” click on “IP recognition.”
Former Library of Latin Texts Series A and B are now combined.
Many sources originally published in the Corpus Christianorum Series Latina,Corpus Christianorum Continuation Medievalis, Corpus Scriptorum Ecclesiasticorum Latinorum, Sources Chrétiennes, Migne’s Patrologia Latina, Acta Sanctorum, Analecta Hymnica Medii Aevi and Biblioteca Teubneriana Latina. Includes the Vulgate and Pseudepigrapha of the Old Testament.

Luthers Werke in WWW from ProQuest
Full-text of the Weimar Edition of Luther's complete works.
more...less...
Consists of over 117 quarto volumes.
Medieval Sources Online
Includes full text (pdf) of books in their series, Manchester Medieval Sources. Topics include the Normans, the Black Death, Catholic England and other theological subjects, women, Merovingian France, the reign of Richard II, and the annals of St-Bertin and Fulda. Covers medieval studies from medieval studies from c. 600s to 1600.

Past Masters from InteLex This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text of works by major philosophers in their original languages.
Past Masters titles reproduce definitive print editions of the full corpora of the seminal figures in the history of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles, essays, reviews, and correspondence. See Title List.
Patrologia Latina from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Full-text of Migne's collection of Patristic and medieval Christian Latin texts. 100 C.E.-1800
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae from Univ. of California-Irvine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VPN Required for Off Campus Access.
If above link does not work when on campus on wireless, use this link
Users need to create a personal profile.
Searchable digitized collection of most surviving ancient Greek texts from Homer to 600 C.E., and many Greek texts from 600 C.E. to the fall of Byzantium in 1453.
Includes the Septuagint and Greek New Testament, plus access to an online version of Liddell-Scott-Jones. NOTE: Best viewed with Internet Explorer (ver. 5.0+) using the "GreekKeys" font. Requires downloading and installation of a Polytonic Greek font available on TLG's font page.