A useful guide to the panoply of religion topics, featuring selected links to home pages, indexes, and documents, with brief annotations by M.H. Smith, Rutgers University.

Resources are arranged by format; religious group/selected topics; general search of the Web site.

An Excellent Gateway to a wide range of Christian resources with emphasis on biblical studies.

This large compilation of links has been rebuilt as a database for greater flexibility of use. Covers a wide range of topics in the humanities, of which Religious Studies is one.

A new revision of the guide by John L. Gresham. Includes links to print resources, people resources, digital resources, teaching resources, and gateways to subject resources organized by academic discipline and by religious tradition.

The ARDA collects quantitative data sets currently not stored in a public archive and makes them available for free use at the site. The site is conveniently searchable.

The DOAJ Religion page includes links to more than 40 free, full-text, online theology journals. More than 8500 records are available in database, PDF, or HTML format. The site’s creator is William S. Peterson, professor emeritus of English, University of Maryland.

The Wabash Center for Teaching and Learning in Theology and Religion provides this selective, annotated guide to electronic resources for those involved in the study and practice of religion. Resources include syllabi, electronic texts, e-journals, web sites, bibliographies, liturgies, references resources, software, and more. Search tips and advanced searching are available.

The official web site of the world’s largest association of academics who research or teach topics related to religion. Includes online publications, teaching resources and educational opportunities, and meeting information.

Provides “information and analysis about selected projects funded by the Lilly Endowment and the publications that have issued from those projects.” The publications include interviews, study guides, essays, newsletters, project descriptions, and abstracts for books and articles produced through the grants. Topics include church leadership, ethics, faith development, higher education, racial/ethnic communions, theological education, theology, and worship. The site does not provide an abundance of full-text scholarship, but grant-seekers can gain valuable information concerning the types of projects the Lilly Endowment funds.

Currently includes four versions of the biblical canon: KJV, RSV, NRSV, and Westcott and Hort Greek New Testament (unaccented). Eventually additional versions; sacred texts from other religious traditions; and other important traditional texts will be added. ECanon is part of TC : A Journal of Biblical Textual Criticism.

Search biblical texts by version, passage, or word; allows several search refinements.

A "web directory of Internet resources on the New Testament." Includes a Greek New Testament Gateway, book reviews, featured links, and sections of links related to the Greek NT, biblical translations, non-canonical writings, the books of the NT, the ancient world, historical Jesus, the synoptic problem, women and gender, art & images, and Jesus in film. Currently updated daily.

The academic blog of Mark Goodacre, associate professor of New Testament, Religion Department, Duke University, and author of The New Testament Gateway. Provides frequently updated theological discussion and posts about the academic world.

Digitized documents, including the Göttingen Gutenberg Bible and the Göttingen Model Book, as well as well-known Bible texts and discussions of Gutenberg’s impact.

Enormous index of links to resources, arranged in four parts: Biblical translations and related texts (including linguistic resources and lexica; Biblical studies electronically published; Aspects of the Mediterranean social world; and the Philo of Alexandria page.

Although this updated site is intended as an online bar/bat mitzvah tutor, it provides a rich introduction to Tora studies.

A free electronic journal--publishing scholar articles, project reports, and book reviews--plus many related links. Now sponsored by The Society of Biblical Literature.

The official Vatican website, including numerous papal documents and a new search engine.

Full text of the 1997 American edition, plus search engine.

The full text of the 1983 edition via IntraText.

Includes articles from Catholic encyclopedia, full text in English translation of Aquinas' Summa Theologica, English translations of selected documents of the early church and of the Catholic Church; and numerous Catholic links.

Provides historical and current information about the liturgies of the Latin (Roman) rite of the Catholic Church. Includes texts, as well as links to articles and other sources that compare and discuss liturgies.

The homepage of the Rome-based international news agency. The agency’s mission is “to provide objective and professional coverage of events, documents and issues emanating from or concerning the Catholic Church for a worldwide audience, especially the media.”

The successor to the Catholic Information Center on the Internet (CICI), this site provides access to leading Catholic magazines and newspapers, papal and Church documents, and devotional services, as well as weekly highlights from Catholic publications and web sites.

This official site of the Society of Jesus in the U.S. includes numerous pages of links to Jesuit provinces, Jesuit ministries, web sites of individual Jesuits, and more. It incorporates most of the material from the former site, Jesuit Resources on the World Wide Web.

The official web site of the Episcopal Church. Provides documents and links related to the Episcopal Church, including news, a "church finder", current initiatives, and Episcopal resources.

News and resources concerning the Anglican church worldwide.

Official ELCA homepage contains links to official and historical documents of the Lutheran Church, directories, Lutheran periodicals, and more.

Includes links to scriptural sources, the Divine Liturgy, Orthodox prayers, readings, news icons, and other resources.

Online version of the 1991 edition published by the International religious Foundation and involving an international team of 40 scholars representing the world's major religious traditions. This collection contains over 4000 scriptural passages from 268 sacred texts and 55 oral traditions, organized by theme.

Provides links to more than 500 resources for the study of Judaism, including academic associations, research institutes, Jewish studies at universities, libraries, archives, and other Internet resources.

"Intelligent" index to the Babylonian Talmud organized by category, by an English alphabetical subject index, and with a search engine powered by Google.

The academic blog of Dr. James R. Davila, reader in Early Jewish Studies, University of St. Andrews, Scotland. Includes news items and discussion of all things related to the study and understanding of ancient Judaism.

News and links to a significant number of resources, including Studies in Christian-Jewish Relations, an open-source journal published by the Boston College Libraries and the Center; related links; reviews; and streaming videos. The site is searchable via an internal search engine.

Searches the Quran by chapter and verse range displayed in any of five translations, as well as a display of the Arabic version or a transliteration

Translations of the Qur’an and the Hadith; substantial collection of Islamic writings, including contemporary essays, on economics, history, human relations, law, misconceptions about Islam, and politics.

Focuses on Islam and cyberspace, particularly the site’s developer, Dr. Gary R. Bunt, Centre for Islamic Studies, Department of Theology & Religious Studies, University of Wales Lampeter. Includes the Virtually Islamic Blog, online bibliographies, and links to useful sites for studying Islam.

A multi-contributor blog that seeks to provide "fair, open-ended scholarly assessment" of current issues related to Islam and the Middle East and to "encourage informed debate rather than partisan posturing on all issues."

Includes links to related materials at Library of Congress.

Provides links to research and educational resources about the Dead Sea Scrolls.

Includes selected texts and discussion of texts.

English translations drawn from the Edinborough collection.

Contains the full text of several pivotal works of Josephus in the 18th-century plus The Complete Collection of Josephus in a zip file.

An Internet version of the on-going, interdisciplinary research seminar instituted in the Department of Theology of Marquette University. Since 2002, providing "a forum for electronically mediated scholarly discussion about Jewish mystical traditions in the eastern Christian texts" to participants from various scholarly communities. Directed by Alexander Golitzin, professor of eastern Christian theology, Marquette University, and Andrei Orlov, assistant professor of Christian origins, Marquette University.

A hypertext encyclopedia of early church history.

Translations of texts and excerpts of texts, including Nag Hammadi codices, other Gnostic and Manichean texts, a few Dead Sea Scrolls translations. Sources of translations not clear in every case.

Links to on-line bibliographies, pedagogical resources, texts, databases, and more. Searchable by category, subcategory, type of materials, and keyword.

A collected history of how Southern African Americans transformed Protestant Christianity into the central institution of community life. From University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Libraries. Includes the full text of collected documents.

Digital resources for teaching and research in the field of Biblical studies. Images in the EIKON database are a subset of the Yale Divinity School Digital Library." REMINDER: Copyright restrictions apply to the use of these images.

World’s largest collection of manuscript images and of the St. John’s Bible, available to students and researchers through advanced technologies for imaging, cataloging, and teaching. Includes digitized rare books and artwork.

Historical maps of the Holy Land, dated 1462-1927. Searchable by persons, date, and site. Resolution is excellent, depending on the browser used.

A repository of digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.