Psychological Tests and Measures: Find Tests and Measures

Need an assessment tool? This guide will help you identify tools to assess various conditions and obtain a copy to use.

Need Help?

Finding a test

The 'finding aids' listed below identify and review hundreds of different tests and measurement tools. If you don't know of a specific test to use for your research, these tools will also help you identify what tests would be appropriate for your need. No one source is totally comprehensive, consult several for a wide variety of choices.

Finding Tests and Measures - Online Sources

See the Books About... page for books containing assessment tools for various topics.

Mental Measurements Yearbook from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides descriptions of published assessment tools, including title, author, audience, publisher, validity, reliability, norming data and scoring information. Most include one or more reviews. MMY is part of another standard finding tool, Tests in Print (TIP) a comprehensive database of all known, commercially available tests currently in print in the English language. SEARCHING: For best results, avoid complicated search terms and combinations.
Entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. Coverage is from the 9th Yearbook (1985) to the present. Previous yearbooks are located in the Raynor Reference Collection BF 431 M44.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Limit of 15 users at one time.
Indexes articles with descriptions and analyses of assessment tools used in health and psychology.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. 1985 to present, with many earlier measures.
PsycINFO from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, dissertations. Can limit results of a search to articles about a test as opposed to articles mentioning a test in the methodology. See Articles about... page for more information
Subject coverage includes basic and applied psychology, abnormal and clinical psychology, experimental psychology, human and animal development, social psychology, professional psychology and educational psychology. Also includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of periodical articles, reports and dissertations, books and chapters. 1987 to present for books and chapters; 1872 to present for journal articles and other material. VPN required if off-campus and also using RefWorks.

Finding Tests - Print sources

General print finding aids are listed below. Sources of topic specific assessment tools are also be listed in the subcategories on the Books about... tab.

Raynor Reference BF176 .T43 2003
Tests: a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business. 5th ed. Directory of published tests for use in psychology, education, and business. Descriptions include test title, author, intended population, major features, scoring method, cost, availability and primary publisher. Indexed by title, author, publisher/distributor index, and special populations.

Raynor Reference BF431 .G625 v.1-8
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures.
Published periodically, each volume identifies tests in psychology, education, sociology, and business that are not commercially available but have been cited in journals and other reports.

Raynor Reference BR 176 .T418
Test Critiques. 1984-2005.
This multi-volume set contains critical reviews of frequently used assessment tools as well as the basic information tool information found in other sources.