➤   Off campus access information below.

Use the navigation links on the left margin to access tools and tips for researching scholarly literature in disciplines.

About the Library: here are two videos that introduce you to the library homepage and the online catalog.

Finding Articles: as you're getting started with your research, the tools and tips in this section can help you search for and access an article.

• Link to multidisciplinary databases for searching
• Access the full text of articles in order to read them

Sources in Conversation: you can use the tools and tips in this section of the guide to track additional sources that are connected to your article through citations or through closely related research subjects.

• Find databases according to what discipline they cover
• Search for known articles from a References/Works Cited list using the Journal Title search in MARQCAT
• Using other tools/ databases to find other articles linked through citations

Discipline Conventions: tools and tips in this section can help you decipher citations and also introduce you to journal abbreviations and common sections of primary research articles from science and social science disciplines.

• Video: "What is a Scholarly Journal Article?" University of Washington Library - an explanation of key segments of particular types of scholarly articles, specifically primary research articles in science and social science disciplines (even if you don't choose a conversation in these disciplines you might enjoy this short, humorous video)
• Find citation style manuals so you can better decipher References/ Works Cited entries and find those articles
• Helpful info on journal abbreviations

Librarians 1001 Podcast: short, informative podcasts that answer questions including: why so many databases? what do you mean by "discipline"? and how do I know if it's scholarly?

Brief description of 3 authentication methods:

1. New Library Login (OpenAthens):  Many library resources use this method for logging in; requires no setup. When prompted, select "Marquette University Libraries (AZURE)" and then sign in using your Marquette email/password.  
2. Library Login (legacy version):  This method is quick and requires no setup.  Just login before clicking on library database links or when prompted to do so. A few library databases will not work with it. 
3. VPN (virtual private network): The VPN requires you to download an app onto both your cell phone and your computer. A few library databases require it for off-campus access. Outline of the steps required for the VPN:
   • Register for Duo Mobile if you haven't already (see "detailed VPN instructions" linked just below).
   • Download Duo Mobile app onto your cell phone. Allow push notifications for it.
   • Download GlobalProtect app onto your computer. Complete GlobalProtect setup on your computer.
   • Find detailed VPN instructions from ITS here.