ENGL 1001 - Foundations in Rhetoric (Spring 2021): Sources in Conversation

Need Help?
Ask Us!

Databases by Subject

Use this drop-down list to select a discipline that may relate to your research question. This will connect you to the best databases for that discipline.


Getting the Articles from a Citation

Two common ways to find out if the Libraries have access to the articles you need:

1) You are searching in an article database, but it doesn't have the full-text:  

Click on  Findit@MU button in the article citation. Another window / tab opens with two possible options:

  • Links indicating Find it @MU may have located one or more sources for full text of the article. Click on the links and follow the trail to the article. 
  • Links to search MARQCAT by the journal title or its ISSN number. The journal may be available in print or electronically through a source not searchable by Find it @MU.

2) You already have a specific citation and aren't currently searching in a database:

  • Search for the journal title in the MARQCAT search box below. *Do not search the title or author of the article; MARQCAT doesn't contain article level information.

The MARQCAT record will indicate what years we have in print and/or online, providing call number locations for the print and links to the e-journal.  Once at the e-journal, navigate to the volume, issue and page that you need.

Didn't find the journal using Find it @MU or MARQCAT?  Contact your class librarian for help!

MARQCAT Search





 

Tools: Advanced Search

Finding Articles that Cite your Article (when possible)

A few tips about finding articles that cite your anchor article (and are possibly in direct conversation):

No single source will locate all citing sources  You can use multiple databases.

  • Web of Science is very comprehensive and recommended for all of these kind of searches.
  • Disciplinary databases may locate additional citing references.
  • Book chapters are not as well covered as journal articles.

Not every database includes citing/cited reference information, those that do will have some overlap.

How to find citing articles:

  1. You are searching the References/Works Cited list of an article, book chapter, etc. and have deciphered its citation style so that you know what you're looking for.
  2. Notice whether the database where you've found your anchor articles offers a link to "Times Cited" or "Citing Articles" in the record for your anchor article
  3. Try searching for your anchor article by using the Author's last name and the Journal Title (Publication Name) in Web of Science and checking the "Times Cited" link on the article's record