Consumer Health: Heart Disease & High Blood Pressure

Use this guide to find information on maintaining a healthy lifestyle, and on living well with common health conditions.

Books

Web Sites

American Heart Association HeartHub for Patients
Includes online tools, videos, articles, and other resources on heart disease and high blood pressure.

American Stroke Association
Provides information on prevention, warning signs, and life after stroke.

CDC - Heart Disease; High Blood Pressure
Includes information on heart disease and high blood pressure, risk factors, and prevention.

MedlinePlus - Heart Diseases; High Blood Pressure
Links to health encyclopedia entries, multimedia resources and other Web sites.

National Heart, Blood, and Lung Institute - Heart and Valvular Diseases
Includes fact sheets, brochures and interactive Web applications.

MARQCAT Search


Databases

Consumer Health Complete
Includes evidence-based reports, encyclopedias and other reference books, pamphlets, news, drug and herb information, images and diagrams, and videos and animations on diseases, conditions, and procedures. Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Includes the full-text of almost 80 consumer health magazines, over 1000 pamphlets, and over 130 health reference books. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Other Health Sciences Databases