Sitting for long periods of time is associated with increased cardiovascular disease and all causes of death, even among people who are physically active. Here are a few ideas to get you moving right at your desk.
Katzmarzyk, P. T., Church, T. S., Craig, C. L., & Bouchard, C. (2009). Sitting time and mortality from all causes, cardiovascular disease, and cancer. Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise, 41(5), 998-1005.
Conditioning for Dance
Get Up! Why your chair is killing you and what you can do about it
No Sweat: How the simple science of motivation can bring you a lifetime of fitness
Restorative YogaAmerican College of Sports Medicine - Access Public Information
Includes physical activity guidelines, exercise-related brochures, keys to exercise success, etc.
CDC - Physical Activity
Includes physical activity guidelines and tips on adding physical activity to your life.
Mayo Clinic - Fitness
Includes information on fitness basics, stretching and flexibility, aerobic exercise, strength training, and sports nutrition.
MedlinePlus - Exercise and Physical Fitness
Links to news and basic information, research, health check tools, and multimedia resources.
Consumer Health Complete
Includes evidence-based reports, encyclopedias and other reference books, pamphlets, news, drug and herb information, images and diagrams, and videos and animations on diseases, conditions, and procedures. Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Includes the full-text of almost 80 consumer health magazines, over 1000 pamphlets, and over 130 health reference books. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.
Raynor Library
Milwaukee, WI 53233
Information Services: (414) 288-7556
Report an accessibility
problem.
To report another problem, please contact: brendan.lenzner@marquette.edu
