AIM Program: Home

Accelerating Ingenuity in Markets

Need Help?

Librarian

Subjects: Accounting, Advertising, Business, Career Research, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing, Public Relations, Social Innovation/Entrepreneurship, Strategic Communication

About this guide

This guide was written for Dr. Jim Valentine's AIIM 4310 course and the AIM program.

Directly below is complete list of databases relevant to finance. But there's a list of Starting point databases too ...

Finance Databases - Complete List

Off campus access methods (authentication)

Library Off-Campus Access webpage
Information (comprehensive) about all 3 authentication methods; has screenshots.
  –  Authentication is required for off-campus use of library databases by the database vendors.
  –  A few databases only work with the VPN.
  –  Includes FAQs about OpenAthens.

Brief description of 3 authentication methods:

New Library Login (OpenAthens): Many library resources use this method for logging in; requires no setup. When prompted, select "Marquette University Libraries (AZURE)" and then sign in using your Marquette email/password.
Library Login (legacy version): This method is quick and requires no setup. Just login before clicking on library database links or when prompted to do so. A few library databases will not work with it.
VPN (virtual private network): The VPN requires you to download an app onto both your cell phone and your computer. A few library databases require it for off-campus access. Outline of the steps required for the VPN:
- Register for Duo Mobile if you haven't already (see "detailed VPN instructions" linked just below).
- Download Duo Mobile app onto your cell phone. Allow push notifications for it.
- Download GlobalProtect app onto your computer. Complete GlobalProtect setup on your computer.
- Find detailed VPN instructions from ITS here.

Research guides

Here are library research guides to use:

Companies & Finance
by Xiaohan Yan Last Updated Nov 15, 2024 1031 views this year
Economics
by Xiaohan Yan Last Updated Nov 15, 2024 509 views this year
Industry Information
by Xiaohan Yan Last Updated Nov 15, 2024 2611 views this year
International Business
by Xiaohan Yan Last Updated Nov 15, 2024 751 views this year

Starting point databases

Workspace from LSEG (formerly Refinitiv Workspace) This link opens in a new window
Individual account registration required. More information on linked page.
Chrome and Safari are the recommended browsers. Intro training videos available here.
For public companies provides: financial data; annual & other reports/filings; analyst & market research reports; M&A, new issues & syndicated loans data. Coverage: ~12,000 US companies & ~41,000 non-US companies.
Download limit of 150 pages / 24-hour period for After Market Research module (aka AMR or Investext).
Formerly called Thomson ONE.
MSCI ESG Direct This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides: company profiles, including analysis of companies' social responsibility; controversial issue involvement reports.
Controversial Issues: abortion, adult entertainment, alcohol, cluster bombs, contraceptives, firearms, gambling, global weapons, landmines, nuclear power, tobacco.
Value Line from Value Line This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VPN Required for Off Campus Access.
If above link does not work when on campus on wireless, use this link
Investment information on 1,700 large-cap stocks and 1,800 small-or medium-cap companies. 1997-present.
How-to videos accessible here.
For each company this includes: year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance; projections of key financial measures; and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects. It also provides short-term industry reviews, and a stock screening feature.
IBISWorld from IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
If on campus and on MU-Secure wifi, use this link.
Collection of industry market research. Modules available: US Industry Reports (organized by NAICS codes), US Industry iExpert Summaries, and US Business Environment Profiles.
Keyword searching doesn't always work well; try browsing the NAICS menu tree also.
Passport This link opens in a new window
On first use only, acknowledgement of privacy and security policy required.
Data, reports and analysis about countries, industries, companies and consumers. Includes: economic and social data for ~200 countries; market research reports for ~80 countries; company and consumer profiles. We do NOT subscribe to the Sustainability module.
Video demo on how to search in Passport.
Economic and social indicator data redistributed from IMF, UN, World Bank, OECD. Annual data only.
ABI/Inform Collection from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage of business conditions, trends, corporate strategies & tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, plus a variety of other topics. Full text provided for 7,000+ publications. Mostly 1971 to present.
Includes: ABI/Inform Dateline, ABI/Inform Global, and ABI/Inform Trade & Industry.

About Find It @ MU
A 4-minute video about the app we've added to many article databases. It creates links between the databases, so if one does not have full-text, then the app will lead you to another that does have full-text.
Here's the full FAQ page about Find It @ MU.