French Language & Literature: Literature

Scholarly resources (articles and books)

The databases below provide strong coverage of scholarly journals in the fields of language and literary studies.

Many contain material in foreign languages, including French. For more databases that provide access to material in French, click here.

Art Abstracts from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Indexes art journals, including museum bulletins and published images, from 1984. Abstracts 1994-present.
Indexes Art Index vol. 33-present. See Art Retrospective for vols. 1-32.

BHA and RILA
Comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of Western art from late antiquity to the modern age. Covers material published from 1975 - 2007.
more...less...
BHA indexes and abstracts articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs on the fine arts—painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, and architecture—as well as decorative and applied arts. Foreign publications are included. List of journals indexed.
Through 1989, entries in this database are drawn from RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art). In 1990, RILA merged with RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie) to form BHA. It is produced by the Getty Research Institute and the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique in France.

International Medieval Bibliography from University of Leeds This link opens in a new window
Index of articles, reviews, and notes on medieval studies. A comprehensive, standard source. 1967-2003.
Using familiar, multilingual terminology defined by professional medievalists for medievalists, this database employs 120,000 index terms classified into six types (subjects, persons, texts, places, manuscripts, etc.). Covers publications in over 30 languages. Relevant to Classics, English language and literature, History and archaeology, Theology, Philosophy, Medieval European languages and literatures, Arabic and Islamic studies, Art history, etc.. Coverage begins in 1967.
JSTOR from JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Broad collection of full-text scholarly journals (approximately 2700 titles). Discipline coverage uneven and usually does not include the most-recent three years.
MLA International Bibliography from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarship on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics. 4,000+ journals and 1,000+ book publishers covered. Some full-text. 1925-present.
Periodicals Archive Online from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of English and foreign language journals in the humanities and social science. 1800-1995.
Project Muse from Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches journals (approximately 600 titles) and books from over 120 publishers worldwide, often in full-text. Emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

About finding books

There are two parts to this:

Finding books BY a given author
Finding books ABOUT a given author or work

The MARQCAT search box below is set up so that you can start immediately with a keyword search. This is usually a good strategy to start with, but sometimes you will need to focus the search (for example, if your author has a common name, or they've written a lot!). Use the drop-down menu to switch to either the author search, or the subject search.

IMPORTANT: for both author and subject searches, you need to enter the author's last or family name first, and their given name second!

To see what a difference the type of search you use can make, here are sample searches for Saint Exupéry: