French Language & Literature: Dictionaries ...

Need Help?

Dictionary stands

When you're in the library, look for the dictionary stands located as follows:

In Memorial:  near the elevators on each floor.

In Raynor:

  • First and second floors: near the two curved staircases
  • Lower level:  near the PrintWise copier-printer station

On each dictionary stand, we try to keep a dictionary for French (also for Spanish, German, Latin, and Greek!).  We say 'try to keep', because sometimes these dictionaries will wander away ...

Mot du Jour

This Word of the Day RSS feed comes courtesy of the Oxford Language Dictionaries online.

Loading

Oxford Hachette French-English Dictionary

This is a great resource.  It includes idiomatic usages and proverbial sayings, and a lot more.  Once you're in the database, you will have to select French.

Other Bilingual Dictionaries

In addition to the books listed below, on each floor of both Raynor and Memorial, you'll find dictionary stands with a French-English dictionary.  Well, that's assuming it's not already in use, nor has gone 'walk-about'! 

French language dictionaries - in French

These are the equivalents of our Webster's or Random House dictionaries.

Visual dictionaries

Visual dictionaries are sometimes incredibly useful ... e.g. when you're not quite sure what to call something even in your own native tongue!

Online dictionary sites

Language usage

When you need to know how the French would handle a tricky grammatical situation, try one of these.

Verb conjugation

For those hard-to-conjugate verbs, here are several resources that should help ...