Skip to Main Content

|   Research Guides

Find Research Services About Accounts
MARQUETTE.EDU
close Menu

SEARCH RAYNOR

Find Archival Collections Collections Digitized Collections (e-Archives) Encyclopedias, Dictionaries Institutional Repository Location of Books/Periodicals Off Campus Access Research Databases A-Z
Research Citation Software Citation Style Guides Library Classes, Tours and Workshops Research Guides Research Consultations Subject Specialists/Liaisons
Services Borrow Chargers & Equipment Conference Center Digital Scholarship Funding Information Center Interlibrary Loan Laptop Checkout Poster Printing Printing Remote Computer Access Request Forms Software/Hardware List
About Hours Jobs (student & staff) Library Basics Library Policies Other Libraries Staff Directory Visitor Policy
Accounts Catalog (MARQCAT) Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD) Refworks
Locations Brew @ the Bridge Center for Teaching and Learning Classroom Reservations Digital Media Editing Room Faculty Research Carrels Floor Plans Graduate Student Research Carrels Group Study Rooms Lemonis Center for Student Success Ott Writing Center TechSquad (ITS)

RAYNOR A TO Z

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
facebook instagram x twitter youtube
close submenu

In This Guide:

OT Capstone Project: 8. Evaluate and determine credibility of resources

How Do You Assess Them?

Use your critical skills to think about how to assess these resources

You're trying to determine if something is credible or authoritative--- is the information biased in some aspect?

  • Who is the audience? 
  • Who's presenting the information? Can they be trusted? How do we know (education/experience)? 
  • Where is this being published? Is this a trusted journal or organization? 
  • Do the results seem too good to be true? Can you find similar findings in other articles or places? 
  • Is this information well-researched? Is this backed by a study or just anecdotes? 
  • How recent is the data? Is that relevant? 
  • Is there a bibliography? Where is the evidence coming from? 
  • Does the method fit my project?
  • Does it fit your purpose? 
  • Are there financial considerations/bias? 

Activity: Robotic Glove Assessment

Article Evaluation Video (3:02) and Slides