Healthfinder.gov Health News
A Healthier America
Plain English Medical Dictionary
- AHRQ Consumers & Patients
Includes information on staying healthy, getting quality care, understanding diseases, and comparing medical treatments.
- AHRQ Healthy Men
Provides tips for staying healthy.
- CAPHIS Top 100 List
Links to consumer health sites selected by the Consumer and Patient Health Information Section of the Medical Library Association.
Provides information on physicians practicing in Wisconsin, and links to information on the quality, safety and cost of care in Wisconsin hospitals.
- Evaluating Internet Health Information
This tutorial was produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Provides health information from the American Academy of Family Physicians.
- Go Ask Alice
Includes information on physical, emotional and spiritual health from Columbia University health educators in a question and answer format.
Provides consumer health information from selected government agencies, non-profit organizations, and universities.
- Healthy Wisconsin People
Links to health-related Web sites and organizations with an emphasis on health services for Wisconsin residents.
Includes health information from Harvard Medical School and the University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine.
- Lab Tests Online
Includes descriptions of clinical lab tests, overviews of conditions and diseases, and recommendations on preventive screening.
Provides consumer health information from the Mayo Clinic.
Includes information on diseases and conditions, medical tests, medications, and a symptom checker.
Links to information on selected health topics, dictionaries, databases, clearinghouses, directories, and organizations. Moblie version also available.
- MedlinePlus - Multiple Languages
Provides health information in Spanish, Hmong, Russian, etc.
Provides consumer health information from faculty affiliated with Case Western Reserve University, Ohio State University, and the University of Cincinnati.
- NLM Drug Portal
Search for drug information by name or by category.
- My Family Health Portrait
This online tool from the Surgeon General, enables you to record your family health history to share with your health care practitioner and other family members.
Pregnancy and parenting advice, and womens' health information from the American College of Nurse- Midwives.
- PubMed Health
Focuses on comparative effectiveness research related to conditions, diseases, treatment options and healthy living.
Provides consumer information on prescription and over-the-counter medications from the American Society of Health Systems Pharmacists.
- NOAH: New York Online Access to Health
Provides consumer health information in English and Spanish.
"Your Guide to Health Fraud, Quackery, and Intelligent Decisions"
- UpToDate for Patients
Patient Knowledge Centers include Asthma, Back Pain, Alzheimer Disease, Pregnancy, and Arthritis.
MedlinePlus Health News
Consumer Health Complete
Includes evidence-based reports, encyclopedias and other reference books, pamphlets, news, drug and herb information, images and diagrams, and videos and animations on diseases, conditions, and procedures. Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.
DIRLINE (Directory of Health Organizations) from National Institutes of Health
Provides approximately 10,000 records with location and descriptive information for government agencies, information and referral centers, professional societies, self-help groups, and academic and research institutions in health and biomedicine. Topics include maternal and child health, diseases and conditions, and health services research and technology assessment.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Includes the full-text of almost 80 consumer health magazines, over 1000 pamphlets, and over 130 health reference books. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.