In This Guide:

Your Librarians

Valerie Beech:

Strategic Communication
Advertising
Corporate Communication
Public Relations

Elisa Coghlan:

Communication Studies
Digital Media
Journalism

Search Tips

For most article databases:

The asterisk (*):
wildcard character, retrieves all variations on root word
AND command:
for connecting different ideas
OR command:
for connecting synonyms

For ProQuest:

Limit to subject "Studies"

For Ebsco:

Limit to subject "Research" -- in most, but not all Ebsco databases
'Choose databases' allows you to search several databases at once
Search for "method* OR studies" in the full-text

COMM 2500: Article search

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar while on campus OR after you've logged into the MARQCAT Library Login.

Here's why:

  –  Because then Google Scholar will have Find It @ MU links
  –  Because those Find It @ MU links will get you to articles that the libraries have paid for
  –  Because you will not be asked for your credit card!

MARQCAT Library Login
When off-campus, login here BEFORE using Google Scholar in order to see Find It @ MU links.

Google Scholar from Google
Searches scholarly literature citations across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books and articles.

About Google Scholar:

Google Scholar indexes (provides links to) content from:

–  Commercial scholarly publishers
–  Scholarly society / association publishers
–  University library institutional repositories (IR's). An IR is an online collection of material published by the university's faculty, often in a pre-publication manuscript form; sometimes also students.
    For example, see Raynor Library's e-Publications@Marquette.
–  Government agencies
–  Non-profit organizations.

The important thing to know:

The majority of the content indexed by Google Scholar is scholarly, but not all. And not all of it is peer-reviewed.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete from EBSCO
Guest Access
Searches 7000+ journals and magazines across all disciplines, mostly full-text. Emphasis on scholarly journals. 1985 - present.
ProQuest Research Collections from ProQuest
Guest Access
Searches full-text of 7000+ journals and magazines across disciplines. Includes general interest, news publications, and scholarly journals. Late 1980s - present.

Proquest Research Collections is made up of several Proquest collections: AltPress Watch, Genderwatch, ProQuest: Asian Business and Reference, Biology Journals, Computing, Criminal Justice Journals, Education Journals, European Business, Health and Medical Complete, Medical Library, Military Collection, Psychology Journals, Religion, Research Library, Science Journals, Social Science Journals, and Telecommunications.
SAGE Journals Online from Sage
Searches full text articles of SAGE journals (approximately 900 titles). Emphasis on the health and social sciences. 1982 - present.
Web of Science from Clarivate Analytics
Searches 12,000+ scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. Cited Reference Search locates articles that have cited an older document. Limited full-text access.
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); the Science Citation Index and the Social Science Citation Index (1900-present for both); and the Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

Communication Databases

Communication Source from EBSCO
Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communications Abstracts have merged. Communication Source offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Film & Television Literature Index from EBSCO
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliographic resource for film and television studies. This database includes 243 actively indexed and abstracted journals, including 96 unique full-text journals. It covers cinematography, film theory, preservation, production, reviews, screenwriting, and technical aspects of film and television. It also includes Variety movie reviews dating back to 1914 and over 65,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text from EBSCO
Search for journal articles, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. 1910- present

Online version of the 14 volume print edition.

Full list of Communication Databases

Business Databases

ABI/Inform Global from ProQuest
Searches in business publications; includes market, industry and country reports. Good coverage of the scholarly business literature. Mostly 1971 - present.

Approximately 3,000 titles.
Business Source Premier from EBSCO
Searches business publications; includes company, country, and industry reports. Good coverage of scholarly business publications. Mostly 1984 - present.

In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 1,570 journals. This database contains popular business publications such as Business Week, Forbes, and Harvard Business Review, and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. Also included is Wall Street Words, a dictionary of financial terms, linked directly to words within the citations and full text. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.

More Business Databases

Psychology Databases

Psychology Database from Proquest
Indexing and some full text of 800+ professional and scholarly periodicals related to psychology. 1980-present.
PsycINFO from EBSCO
Guest Access
Comprehensive index of scholarly journal articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related fields. 1800s-present.

Subject coverage includes basic and applied psychology, abnormal and clinical psychology, experimental psychology, human and animal development, social psychology, professional psychology and educational psychology. Also includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of periodical articles, reports and dissertations, books and chapters. 1987 to present for books and chapters; 1872 to present for journal articles and other material. VPN required if off-campus and also using RefWorks.
PsycArticles from EBSCO
Full-text of 100 publications from the American Psychological Assoc., Canadian Psychological Assoc. & Hogrefe Pub. Coverage back to 1894 for many titles.

Getting the Articles

Here's a short video showing how Find it @ MU works. (About 4 minutes long.)

Two common ways to find out if the Libraries have access to the articles you need:

1) You are searching in an article database, but it doesn't have the full-text:

Click on in the article citation. Another window / tab opens with two possible options:

Links indicating Find it @MU may have located one or more sources for full text of the article. Click on the links and follow the trail to the article.
Links to search MARQCAT by the journal title or its ISSN number. The journal may be available in print or electronically through a source not searchable by Find it @MU.

2) You already have a specific citation and aren't currently searching in a database:

Use MARQCAT's Advanced Search to search for the journal title.

The MARQCAT record will indicate what years we have in print and/or online, providing call number locations for the print and links to the e-journal. Once at the e-journal, navigate to the volume, issue and page that you need.

Questions:

Didn't find the article/journal using Find it @MU or MARQCAT? Request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) by clicking on the link at the bottom of the Find it @MU window or tab. Learn more about ILL here.

Ever wonder why the full-text isn't there? Watch this short video about the Business of Information.