Unless you are already familiar with the research topics, you may need an introduction: subject encyclopedias can provide that.
Below are 2 databases of online encyclopedias. In addition, there are a few subject encyclopedias you could look in ...
Start with this online collection of (mostly) reference books. Subject-specific encyclopedias, handbooks, companions, etc.
Use the databases above and individual online encyclopedias to explore your field. For example, if you're in public relations, look for ideas in the Encyclopedia of Public Relations linked to below.
The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising by 
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media by 
Encyclopedia of Journalism by 
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics by 
International Encyclopedia of Dance by 
International Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Communication by 
The International Encyclopedia of Media Effects by 
The International Encyclopedia of Organizational Communication by 
The International Encyclopedia of Political Communication by 
International Encyclopedia of Strategic Communication by 
Oxford Encyclopedia of Intergroup Communication by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by 
The Routledge Companion to Theatre and Performance by 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods by 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence by 
The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods by 
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory by 
SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods by 
The International Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods by Raynor Library
Milwaukee, WI 53233
Information Services: (414) 288-7556
Report an accessibility
problem.
To report another problem, please contact: brendan.lenzner@marquette.edu
