MBA 6130 - Corporate Social Responsibility: Home

Need Help?

Ask us!

Report access issues here →

Subject Librarian

Valerie Beech

Email Me

Contact:

414.288.1998

Subjects: Citation Searching

About this guide

This guide was written for Dr. Kathleen Rehbein's online course.

Below are:

Information about off campus access to library resources.
News sources for Milwaukee
Starting points for your research: use the links in the table of contents menu (left) to go to specific topics.

Off campus access methods (authentication)

Library Off-Campus Access webpage
Information (comprehensive) about all 3 authentication methods; has screenshots.
  –  Authentication is required for off-campus use of library databases by the database vendors.
  –  A few databases only work with the VPN.
  –  Includes FAQs about OpenAthens.

Brief description of 3 authentication methods:

New Library Login (OpenAthens): Many library resources use this method for logging in; requires no setup. When prompted, select "Marquette University Libraries (AZURE)" and then sign in using your Marquette email/password.
Library Login (legacy version): This method is quick and requires no setup. Just login before clicking on library database links or when prompted to do so. A few library databases will not work with it.
VPN (virtual private network): The VPN requires you to download an app onto both your cell phone and your computer. A few library databases require it for off-campus access. Outline of the steps required for the VPN:
- Register for Duo Mobile if you haven't already (see "detailed VPN instructions" linked just below).
- Download Duo Mobile app onto your cell phone. Allow push notifications for it.
- Download GlobalProtect app onto your computer. Complete GlobalProtect setup on your computer.
- Find detailed VPN instructions from ITS here.

Milwaukee News Sources

News - individual sources:

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel (1990 to date), Milwaukee Journal (1844-1909, 1921 – 1990) and Milwaukee Sentinel (1844-1865; 1910-1990) from Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Full-text of major current and historical Milwaukee newspapers
Milwaukee Business Journal from BizJournals.com This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Milwaukee Business Journal. Individual account registration required.

Milwaukee NNS
The Milwaukee Neighborhood News Service has sections on their website for health & wellness, housing, economic development, and more. "NNS covers stories that are important to the people who live, work and serve in city neighborhoods ..."
more...less...
A project of United Neighborhood Centers of Milwaukee (UNCOM), NNS traces its origins to the Zilber Neighborhood Initiative. Funders have included the Zilber Family Foundation, Greater Milwaukee Foundation, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, Argosy Foundation, Northwestern Mutual Foundation and Diederich College of Communication at Marquette University.
Shepherd Express
A free, alternative and independent newspaper.

News - library databases:

Access World News - Wisconsin from Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Full-text of historical and current news sources in Wisconsin.
Archive of Wisconsin Newspapers from Wisconsin Newspaper Association This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 250 Wisconsin newspapers from 2005 to 90 days ago, and 13 historical Wisconsin newspapers from the 1800s and 1900s; each newspaper is available cover to cover in a searchable PDF format.
US Midwest Newsstream from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes newspapers, wires, a few trade journals, blogs, podcasts and more from approximately 145 current and 80 older publications.

WUWM Environment Reporting
At Milwaukee's NPR station, reporter Susan Bence has many good stories.

Government sites:

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps: Milwaukee WI
Milwaukee Open Data
This is a city government site, with access to lots of data and data tools.

Finding Harvard Business Review articles

Quick and easy, here are the links to print and online-only content via the vendor Ebsco.

Note: From the HBR website, it is NOT always clear whether an article is in the official print publication, or only in the online edition. If you don't find a known article in one, just try the other. (I cannot easily create a link that allows searching in both at once, sorry.)

Harvard Business Review
1922 - present, via Ebsco. Click here for info about usage limits.
To search for specific articles: look for the link "Search within this publication" on the left, just above the journal title. Go to the MARQCAT record to see what we own in print.
Harvard Business Review Digital Articles
In addition to the articles formally published in the HBR, there is digital only content. March 2007 - present.
To search for specific articles: look for the link "Search within this publication" on the left, just above the journal title.

The Way Out case study

The Way Out

The Way Out is a 2nd chance employment broker/agency. In addition to introducing Justice-Involved job seekers to employers, it also provides training and support services.

Local news about it:

New app helps formerly incarcerated individuals overcome employment barriers
Mendez, E. (2021, August 3). New app helps formerly incarcerated individuals overcome employment barriers. Milwaukee NNS.
The Way Out combats recidivism by reducing bias during hiring
Richardson, O. (2020, December 7). The Way Out combats recidivism by reducing bias during hiring. 88Nine Radio Milwaukee.
The Way Out is working to break the cycle of incarceration through career opportunities
Beecher, S.S. (2021, November 24). The Way Out is working to break the cycle of incarceration through career opportunities. Technical.ly
'The Way Out' helping to connect formerly incarcerated people with jobs in Milwaukee
McGrew, S. (2021, December 30). 'The Way Out' helping to connect formerly incarcerated people with jobs in Milwaukee. TMJ4.

Examples of companies hiring the Justice Involved Job Seeker:

A potential solution to workforce shortage
Collingwood, C. (2023/07/31/). A potential solution to workforce shortage. Central Penn Business Journal, https://www.proquest.com/abicomplete/trade-journals/potential-solution-workforce-shortage/docview/2845363246/sem-2/shibboleth?accountid=100
The New Con Job
Carter, C. (2018). The New Con Job. Entrepreneur, 46(7), 86–91.
PDF link in the left margin. This article is about MOD Pizza and their employment of formerly incarcerated people.
PRIDE industries partners with Clark Pacific to create jobs for individuals who face barriers to employment
PRIDE industries partners with Clark Pacific to create jobs for individuals who face barriers to employment: The hiring program will prioritize people with disabilities, formerly incarcerated individuals, and other groups with high unemployment rates. (2021, Sep 02). PR Newswire.
Securus Technologies Commits To Hiring Incarcerated And Formerly Incarcerated Women In Partnership With Televerde
Securus technologies commits to hiring incarcerated and formerly incarcerated women in partnership with televerde: New partnership drives greater inclusivity and empowers 45 incarcerated women to participate in customer experience and client support roles. (2020, Oct 21). U.S.Newswire.
Serving sandwiches and social justice: Minneapolis restaurant All Square is giving jobs, and second chances, to the formerly incarcerated
Jackson, S. (2019, May 05). Serving sandwiches and social justice: Minneapolis restaurant All Square is giving jobs, and second chances, to the formerly incarcerated. Star Tribune.
Shedding preconceived ideas about workers with criminal records: Managers describe success in hiring people who were formerly incarcerated
Shedding Preconceived Ideas About Workers with Criminal Records: Managers describe success in hiring people who were formerly incarcerated. (2020). HRNews.

Relevant reports and scholarly articles:

The association between time incarcerated and employment success: Comparing traditional vocational services with a hybrid supported employment program for veterans.
LePage, J. P., Crawford, A. M., Martin, W. B., Ottomanelli, L., Cipher, D., Rock, A., Parish-Johnson, J., & Washington, E. (2021). The association between time incarcerated and employment success: Comparing traditional vocational services with a hybrid supported employment program for veterans. Psychiatric Rehabilitation Journal, 44(2)
Back To Business: How hiring formerly incarcerated job seekers benefits your company
A 2017 report from the Trone Private Sector and Education Advisory Council to the American Civil Liberties Union.
Out of Prison & Out of Work: Unemployment among formerly incarcerated people
Couloute, L., Kopf, D. (2018, July). Out of Prison & Out of Work: Unemployment among formerly incarcerated people. [Report from the] Prison Policy Initiative.
The Price We Pay: Economic Costs of Barriers to Employment for Former Prisoners and People Convicted of Felonies
Bucknor, C., Barber, A. (2016 June). The Price We Pay: Economic Costs of Barriers to Employment for Former Prisoners and People Convicted of Felonies. [Report from the] Center for Economic and Policy Research.
Increasing the demand for workers with a criminal record
Cullen, Z. B., Dobbie, W. S., & Hoffman, M. (2022). Increasing the Demand for Workers with a Criminal Record. NBER Working Paper Series. https://doi.org/10.3386/w29947
Use the "Get Full Text" button (on the right) to go to the complete item.
Ban the Box, Convictions and Public Employment
Craigie, T. (2020). Ban the Box, Convictions, and Public Employment. Economic Inquiry, 58(1), 425–445. https://doi.org/10.1111/ecin.12837