MBA 6130 - Corporate Social Responsibility: Social issues

Need Help?

Finding background info on social issues

The outlook and annual reports linked to on this page will often provide you with very good overviews of their topics. They are published by international organizations that work in these areas, and coordinate efforts (when possible).

In addition, don't forget about searching for books and scholarly articles!

Major scholarly article databases
This list is on the Article Search page of the guide ...
MARQCAT - the MU Library catalog
Especially useful when you're looking for known items.

MARQCATplus from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
The 'Google' version of the MU library catalog: combines article and book searching, but search capabilities are very basic.
ebook Collection (EBSCOhost) from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 120,000 full-text e-books representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Combines the former NetLibrary collection with EBSCO's academic ebook collection.

Data

When you just need data, here are two good databases to start with.

Passport This link opens in a new window
On first use only, acknowledgement of privacy and security policy required.
Data, reports and analysis about countries, industries, companies and consumers. Includes: economic and social data for ~200 countries; market research reports for ~80 countries; company and consumer profiles. We do NOT subscribe to the Sustainability module.
Video demo on how to search in Passport.
Economic and social indicator data redistributed from IMF, UN, World Bank, OECD. Annual data only.

World Databank -- From the World Bank
Most World Bank data is now available for free!
World Development Indicators (WDI) is where to start ...
Health Statistics Research Guide
Resources for health related statistics for the US.
Geographic focus: US, Wisconsin and Milwaukee only, nothing international.

Annual reports of international organizations

Economic Development in Africa by United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
This series began in 2000.
Global Monitoring Reports by World Bank, International Monetary Fund
The Global Monitoring Report series, produced by the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund, focuses on how the world is doing in implementing the policies and actions for achieving the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) and related development outcomes. The reports are a framework for accountability in global development policy.
Human Development Report by United Nations
Call Number: HD 72 .H85
1990 - present editions are all available online. Each edition reports on a specific topic, in addition to providing the Human Development Index data and rankings.
Print editions for 1990 - 2006 are located on Memorial level 3. Click here to check on print availability.
Human Rights Watch World Report
Call Number: Law Library JC 571 .H785
The Law Library has print volumes for 1990-present, but they are to be used in the library only. Click here to see the Marqcat record.
Least Developed Countries Report by United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
1995 - present available online.
State of the World's Children by UNICEF
Call Number: HQ 792.2 .S73
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Trade and Development Report by United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
World Development Indicators by World Bank
Call Number: HC 59.69 .S63
WDI are available as both pdfs and as data only online. The pdfs go back to 2005; the data can go back to 1960, depending on the variable.
Print editions for ? - 2005 are available on Memorial level 3. Click here to check on print availability.
World Health Report by World Health Organization
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
World Investment Reports by United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
Call Number: HD 2755.5 .W65
This series reports on foreign investment. Each volume will also have a specific topical focus. Click here to see the Marqcat records for the entire series. The print volumes are located on Memorial level 3.
World Development Report by World Bank
World Water Development Report by UN