Marquette University Archives

Drawing of Marquette Hall as viewed from the northwest corner of the building, 1925

The Department of Special Collections and University Archives collects and administers the archives of Marquette University and its various units, including office administrative files, publications, and the papers of faculty, students, staff, and alumni, and their respective organizations. The University Archives staff seeks to identify, preserve, and make accessible all University records that have long term administrative, legal, financial, or historical value.

Classroom support

The University Archives is happy to work with teaching faculty and lecturers to incorporate primary source materials into the learning process. We can arrange tours, orientations, presentations, and class visits to incorporate archives’ materials in courses or to provide an introduction to primary source materials and the use of archives. Please contact a staff member to discuss arrangements.

Browse Finding Aids

Plan a Visit

The Department of Special Collections and University Archives is located on the third floor of the John P. Raynor, S.J., Library, Room R360. The library is located at 1355 W. Wisconsin Ave. A map of Marquette University offers directions to campus and information on parking.

Hours of service are Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Evening and weekend hours may be arranged by appointment. For further information, please call (414) 288-7256.

Holdings are available for public use, although patrons from off campus may be required to register. For more information please see the Libraries' Visitor Policy.  Some collections may also be subject to restrictions placed by donors or university offices. All researchers sign a registration form that includes an agreement to abide by rules governing use. Access to records is provided through archival descriptive inventories and MARQCAT, the Raynor Memorial Libraries' online catalog. To insure the availability of records and audio/visual equipment, researchers are asked to write or phone in advance.