Materials in the University Archives do not circulate and may not be removed from the reading room. Collections are maintained in areas closed to the public. Some items are stored in an off-site facility and may require up to 40 minutes to retrieve.
The use of certain materials may be restricted by law, by agreement with the donor or due to their status as unprocessed. An archivist can alert you to these restrictions and can assist you in the process of requesting access.
Rights & Reproductions
Materials may be digitally scanned or photocopied, as long as the process does not harm the originals.
All scans and photocopies are prepared by the archives staff. Large orders may require several days to complete and charges may apply (see our Fee Schedule for general rates; scanning fees are in many cases waived for materials used in student course papers and projects).
In many cases, patrons may take their own photographs of items in the collection for use in their research; permission is granted on a case-by-case basis.
Archives staff may decline to provide photocopies whenever adequate alternatives are available on microfilm, within digital collections or other media.
The archives staff will assist researchers in determining if copyright restrictions apply, although responsibility for copyright and obtaining necessary permissions rests with the researcher. Supplying a photocopy or photograph is not authorization to publish.
Citing archival holdings
All archival materials must be properly cited and credited to Marquette University, Department of Special Collections and University Archives.
Permission to publish, reproduce or display many unpublished documentary sources, beyond the bounds of “fair use,” must be obtained from the holder of the copyright. It is the researcher’s responsibility to secure that permission. The archives’ furnishing of a print or digital copy for private study is not authorization to publish. Furthermore, the written permission of the Raynor Memorial Libraries must be obtained, before publication, to use any item or quotation beyond fair use. Please consult with an archivist about specific collection guidelines and be prepared to complete our Application for Printing, Publication or Exhibit of Photographic Materials.
The form your citation will take depends on where it appears within your paper and the citation format specified by your professor or editor. The Department of Special Collections & University Archives has prepared a Guide to Citing Archival Sources that provides guidance using several common style guides.