Sitting for long periods of time is associated with increased cardiovascular disease and all causes of death, even among people who are physically active. Here are a few ideas to get you moving right at your desk.
Katzmarzyk, P. T., Church, T. S., Craig, C. L., & Bouchard, C. (2009). Sitting time and mortality from all causes, cardiovascular disease, and cancer. Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise, 41(5), 998-1005.
3-Minute Office Workouts from AICR on Vimeo.
Go Red for Women
This free 12-week online nutrition and fitness program from the American Heart Association provides step-by-step guidance on physical activity, nutrition and stress management.
This nation-wide campaign is intended to reduce childhood obesity.
Options include Active Lifestyle, Presidential Champions, and group programs.
American College of Sports Medicine - Access Public Information
Includes physical activity guidelines, exercise-related brochures, keys to exercise success, etc.
American Council on Exercise - Get Fit
Includes an exercise library of tutorials, workouts, product reviews, and healthy recipes.
American Heart Association - Physical Activity
Provides tips for exercise success, a BMI calculator, strength and stretching illustration sheets, and other resources.
Be Active Your Way
This resource from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services provides guidance based on the 2008 Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans.
CDC - Physical Activity
Includes physical activity guidelines and tips on adding physical activity to your life.
Mayo Clinic - Fitness
Includes information on fitness basics, stretching and flexibility, aerobic exercise, strength training, and sports nutrition.
MedlinePlus - Exercise and Physical Fitness
Links to news and basic information, research, health check tools, and multimedia resources.
Physical Activity and Health
"A Report of the Surgeon General."
President's Council on Fitness, Sports & Nutrition
Take the adult fitness test, access Council publications, and link to other resources.
Shape Up America!
Includes information on nutrition and exercise.
Consumer Health Complete
Includes evidence-based reports, encyclopedias and other reference books, pamphlets, news, drug and herb information, images and diagrams, and videos and animations on diseases, conditions, and procedures. Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Includes the full-text of almost 80 consumer health magazines, over 1000 pamphlets, and over 130 health reference books. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.