In This Guide:

Islamic Studies: Religion

This Research Guides provides access to resources at Marquette Libraries and on the Internet about the Islam and the Mideast.

Introduction

To find books at Marquette use the Advanced Keyword Search box below.

1. Go to the window on the upper left marked Any Field, click on the dropdown arrow to the right, and select Subject. Then enter Islam in the window to the right.

2. Leave the second window as Any Field and enter any keyword you want.

Here are a few sample searches:
Subject: Islam Keyword: hajj
Subject: Islam Keyword: Judaism

MARQCAT Advanced Keyword Search

Please fill in the form, select limits, and click Search

Overviews and Introductions

Cambridge Companion to Classical Islamic Theology by Tim Winter, Editor
Call Number: BP166.1 .C36 2008 Memorial Level 1

In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Islam, a guide for Jews and Christians by F. E. Peters
Call Number: BP172 .P455 2003 Memorial Level 1

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
A brief guide to Islam : history, faith and politics : the complete introduction by Paul Grieve
Call Number: BP52 .G75 2006 Memorial Level 1

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
An introduction to the modern Middle East : history, religion, political economy, politics by David S. Sorenson
Call Number: DS44 .S67 2008 Memorial level 2

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Muslims : their religious beliefs and practices by Andrew Rippin
Call Number: BP161.2 .R53 2001 Memorial Level 1

In print only. Click on title to view bibliographic record.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Access limited to 1 user at a time. Full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on major topics about Islam; English interpretations of the Qur'an; primary source documents, images and maps; and more.

more... less...

Includes material from several reference works including: Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, The Oxford History of Islam, and What Everyone Needs to Know About Islam.

The Qur'an : an encyclopedia by Oliver Leaman, editor
Call Number: BP133 .Q87 2006 Raynor Reference

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World by Richard C. Martin, editor
Call Number: BP40 .E525 2004 Raynor Reference

Publication Date: 2004

In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Encyclopædia Iranica by Ehsan Yarshater, ed.
Call Number: DS253 .E53 1985 Memorial Level 2

Publication Date: 1985-

In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic entry and access to e-version.

Specialized Scholarly Studies

Christian martyrs for a Muslim people by Martin McGee
Call Number: BR1608.5 .M393 2008 Memorial Level 1

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Reason and inspiration in Islam : theology, philosophy and mysticism in Muslim thought : essays in honour of Hermann Landolt by Todd Lawson, editor
Call Number: BP189 .R38 2005 Memorial Level 1

In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
The flowering of Muslim theology by Josef van Ess ; translated by Jane Marie Todd
Call Number: BP166 .E7713 2006 Memorial Level 1

In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.