Islamic Studies: Articles

This Research Guides provides access to resources at Marquette Libraries and on the Internet about the Islam and the Mideast.

Top Resources

Index Islamicus from Brill This link opens in a new window
Index of publications on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. A comprehensive, standard source.
Search criteria include: subject, author, title, keyword in title, keyword, year, place of publication, type of literature, and publisher. 1906 to present.

MenaLib: Middle East Virtual Library
The Middle East Virtual Library (MENALIB) is an information portal for Middle East, North African, and Islamic Studies. It provides access to electronic fulltext materials or electronic bibliographical records of printed materials and manuscripts.
more...less...
The technical basis for this Virtual Library is maintained by the State- and University Library Saxony-Anhalt in Halle (Germany). At the same time, MENALIB integrates the efforts of many institutions and individuals in order to provide information as comprehensive as possible

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Index of primarily academic research on the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa, covering 1900 to the present. Contains some full-text.

Additional Resources

For Theology, Philosophy, and History

Marquette Libraries will have many, but not all, of the journals indexed here. See the note in the box above.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials plus from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes 1,400 international journals in the study of religion and provides full text to 100+ journals. Coverage extending back into the 19th century with 1881 as the earliest date of coverage.
Includes Catholic Periodical and Literature Index 1981-present
Topics include: Biblical Studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues
Philosopher's Index from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of a broad spectrum of philosophical sources, including more than 1,600 journals; books and anthologies; and more. Mostly 1940 - present.
Provides global coverage, with source publications from more than 135 countries, and in more than 35 languages.
Historical Abstracts from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
The standard indexing service for academic historical writings on all areas of the world, except the United States and Canada. Covers items published from 1972 to present.

Full-text online:

JSTOR from JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Broad collection of full-text scholarly journals (approximately 2700 titles). Discipline coverage uneven and usually does not include the most-recent three years.
Periodicals Archive Online from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of English and foreign language journals in the humanities and social science. 1800-1995.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a broad search of diverse scholarly literature--papers, theses, books, and articles, presented in a weighted relevancy ranking. Advanced Search Tips

Getting the Articles

Here's a short video showing how Find it @ MU works. (About 4 minutes long.)

Two common ways to find out if the Libraries have access to the articles you need:

1) You are searching in an article database, but it doesn't have the full-text:

Click on in the article citation. Another window / tab opens with two possible options:

Links indicating Find it @MU may have located one or more sources for full text of the article. Click on the links and follow the trail to the article.
Links to search MARQCAT by the journal title or its ISSN number. The journal may be available in print or electronically through a source not searchable by Find it @MU.

2) You already have a specific citation and aren't currently searching in a database:

Use MARQCAT's Advanced Search to search for the journal title.

The MARQCAT record will indicate what years we have in print and/or online, providing call number locations for the print and links to the e-journal. Once at the e-journal, navigate to the volume, issue and page that you need.

Questions:

Didn't find the article/journal using Find it @MU or MARQCAT? Request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) by clicking on the link at the bottom of the Find it @MU window or tab. Learn more about ILL here.

Ever wonder why the full-text isn't there? Watch this short video about the Business of Information.