Islamic Studies: Tradition (Sunnah)

This Research Guides provides access to resources at Marquette Libraries and on the Internet about the Islam and the Mideast.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Access limited to 1 user at a time. Full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on major topics about Islam; English interpretations of the Qur'an; primary source documents, images and maps; and more.
more...less...
Includes material from several reference works including: Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, The Oxford History of Islam, and What Everyone Needs to Know About Islam.

A New Introduction to Islam by Daniel Brown
Call Number: BP161.3 .B76 2004 Memorial Level 1
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
The Oxford History of Islam by John L. Espoisito, editor
Call Number: BP50 .O95 1999 Raynor Reference
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
An introduction to Islam by David Waines
Call Number: BP161.2 .W29 1995 Memorial Level 1 See also 2003 edition.
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.

Reconfiguring Islamic tradition : reform, rationality, and modernity by Samira Haj
Call Number: BP166.14.M63 H35 2009 Memorial Level 1
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Islam, Fundamentalism, and the Betrayal of Tradition by Joseph E. B. Lumbard
Call Number: BP60 .I7848 2004 Memorial Level 1
Publication Date: 2009-08-16
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Islam, Christianity and tradition : a comparative exploration by Ian Richard Netton
Call Number: BP165.7 .N48 2006 Memorial Level 1
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Islam in the Middle East : a living tradition by G.P. Makris
Call Number: BP63.A35 M35 2007 Memorial Level 1
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.