Islamic Studies: Databases

This Research Guides provides access to resources at Marquette Libraries and on the Internet about the Islam and the Mideast.

Databases: Specific to Islam and the Mideast

Encyclopaedia of Islam from Brill This link opens in a new window
Online versions of the first edition of this encyclopedia, a standard in its field.
Searches are possible in both English and Arabic transcription. 1st edition published 1913-1936.
Index Islamicus from Brill This link opens in a new window
Index of publications on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. A comprehensive, standard source.
Search criteria include: subject, author, title, keyword in title, keyword, year, place of publication, type of literature, and publisher. 1906 to present.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Index of primarily academic research on the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa, covering 1900 to the present. Contains some full-text.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Access limited to 1 user at a time. Full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on major topics about Islam; English interpretations of the Qur'an; primary source documents, images and maps; and more.
more...less...
Includes material from several reference works including: Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, The Oxford History of Islam, and What Everyone Needs to Know About Islam.

Databases: Generic and Multidisciplinary

Abstracts in Anthropology from Sage This link opens in a new window
Indexes anthropological topics from several hundred periodicals by author and subject. 2001-present
Provides good coverage in many subfields including cultural and physical anthropology, archeology and linguistics.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials plus from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes 1,400 international journals in the study of religion and provides full text to 100+ journals. Coverage extending back into the 19th century with 1881 as the earliest date of coverage.
Includes Catholic Periodical and Literature Index 1981-present
Topics include: Biblical Studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues
Historical Abstracts from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
The standard indexing service for academic historical writings on all areas of the world, except the United States and Canada. Covers items published from 1972 to present.
JSTOR from JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Broad collection of full-text scholarly journals (approximately 2700 titles). Discipline coverage uneven and usually does not include the most-recent three years.
Periodicals Archive Online from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of English and foreign language journals in the humanities and social science. 1800-1995.
Philosopher's Index from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of a broad spectrum of philosophical sources, including more than 1,600 journals; books and anthologies; and more. Mostly 1940 - present.
Provides global coverage, with source publications from more than 135 countries, and in more than 35 languages.
Political Science Database from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains political science, public policy, and international relations scholarly journals; recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics; working papers; country reports (EIU); conference proceedings, policy papers and other sources. Dates of coverage: 1985 – present.
PAIS Index from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for a wide range of documents related to current events, public policy, and social sciences. 1972 to present.
Indexes books, pamphlets, and publications of the U.S. government and of international organizations, in addition to selected articles in 1400 periodicals.
Sociological Abstracts from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and some full-text for the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers. Includes Social Services Abstracts. Dates of coverage: 1952-present.