Career Research: Company Research

Career Services Center

Location:
  Holthusen Hall, 1st floor
  1324 W. Wisconsin Avenue
  P.O. Box 1881
  Milwaukee, WI 53201-1881
Phone: (414) 288-7423
career.services@marquette.edu

Company profiles

Here are databases that have company profiles.

Gale Business Insights from Gale This link opens in a new window
Has profiles (including SWOT analyses) from Global Data for ~20K companies. Start with a company name search ...
Formerly: Business Company Resource Center.

Hoover's Company Records (Mergent and D&B, via ProQuest)
October 2020 - present. Profiles include brief overviews of management, financials, industry, and competition.
MarketLine Company Profiles (via Business Source Premier)
MarketLine publishes company profiles and some industry profiles for the United States, global markets, and products in developed countries. These reports outline the company products, financial condition, strategies, and provide a brief SWOT analysis describing strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats.

MSCI ESG Direct This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides: company profiles, including analysis of companies' social responsibility; controversial issue involvement reports.
Controversial Issues: abortion, adult entertainment, alcohol, cluster bombs, contraceptives, firearms, gambling, global weapons, landmines, nuclear power, tobacco.

More about Company Research
For an in-depth information about research on companies and finance use this Company Research Guide.

Directory databases

Use directory databases to identify companies based on criteria you specify (e.g. by industry, by revenues, by geographic region).

–   Mergent Intellect is probably the largest directory database we offer.
–   Redbooks.com and SRDS Media Solutions are two directory databases relevant especially to fields in communication
–   Uniworld will help you discover companies with a multinational presence.

Mergent Intellect from Mergent This link opens in a new window
Directory database for private and public U.S and international businesses. Provides facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. Allows creation and downloading of lists.

Nexis Uni - company directory search
- This link opens in a new window
This link goes to the landing page for Nexis Uni business content and search forms.
Scroll down to Company Dossier, and use:
– "Find a Company": for quick lookups
– "Create a Company List": for creating downloadable lists
more...less...
This database is a portal: it has strong coverage in news, business, and the law.

Winmo from List Partners, Inc This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VPN Required for Off Campus Access.
If above link does not work when on campus on wireless, use this link
Database of directory-type information on both advertising agencies and companies which advertise. Has media and channel spending data
NOT included in subscription: AdBeat, Creative, WinmoEdge, or WinmoTalk
Redbooks.com was acquired by Winmo in May 2018; their two products were merged in July 2019. Formerly the print publications Standard Directory of Advertising Agencies and Standard Directory of Advertisers.
SRDS Media Planning Platform from Kantar Media This link opens in a new window
Database of directory information for print and broadcast media; demographic market segmentation information for metro areas and counties (Claritas 360 module). Short video about the Claritas 360 module.
Formerly Standard Rate & Data Service. We subscribe to these modules:
  –   Consumer Magazine Media
  –   Local Media by DMA
  –   Newspaper Media
  –   Radio Media
  –   TV & Cable Media
  –   Claritas 360 (formerly Claritas Segmentation & Market Solutions; and before that, Local Market Audience Analyst; Lifestyle Market Analyst)

Information (Reviews) from Employees

Glassdoor
Billed as the "TripAdvisor" for the workplace, Glassdoor encourages employees to share compensation information in an effort to provide an honest picture of what it’s really like to work inside a company.
Information provided includes: salary details, reviews, and interview questions for thousands of companies.
Great Place to Work
Workplace reviews "Based on the results of a statistically valid employee survey (the Great Place to Work® Trust Index©) and information provided by the company (the Culture Brief™), we analyze each organization and capture its employees’ workplace experiences".