Career Research: Article Search

Career Services Center

Location:
  Holthusen Hall, 1st floor
  1324 W. Wisconsin Avenue
  P.O. Box 1881
  Milwaukee, WI 53201-1881
Phone: (414) 288-7423
career.services@marquette.edu

Why Articles?

Articles appear in magazines, journals, periodicals, and newspapers. Use articles for:

most recent research on a topic
coverage of very narrow topics
coverage of current events
contemporary accounts of past events and research

Trade magazines

Once you've identified companies you're interested in, see what's been recently published in trade magazines and business publications about them. That's often where you'll find the latest business news.

ABI/Inform Collection from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage of business conditions, trends, corporate strategies & tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, plus a variety of other topics. Full text provided for 7,000+ publications. Mostly 1971 to present.
Includes: ABI/Inform Dateline, ABI/Inform Global, and ABI/Inform Trade & Industry.
Gale Business Insights from Gale This link opens in a new window
Formerly: Business Insights: Essentials
Searches business journals and magazines, industry reports and encyclopedia articles focusing on company and business information. Indexing 1980-present. Full-text mostly 1990-present.
Formerly: Business Company Resource Center.
Business Source Premier from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches business publications; includes company, country, and industry reports. Good coverage of scholarly business publications. Mostly 1984 - present.
In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 1,570 journals. This database contains popular business publications such as Business Week, Forbes, and Harvard Business Review, and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. Also included is Wall Street Words, a dictionary of financial terms, linked directly to words within the citations and full text. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.

News sources

Local or regional business news:

Crain's Chicago Business
September 9, 1996 - present, via ProQuest.

Milwaukee Business Journal from BizJournals.com This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Milwaukee Business Journal. Individual account registration required.

Business news only (or primarily!)

Big news databases:

These can be useful: especially when your company is smaller, private, or a non-profit.

Access World News - USA from Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Current and archived news content for the United States. Access local, in-state, and national news sources, including newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires, news blogs, web-only and video content.
Newspaper Source Plus from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of 1,000+ newspapers from the US, UK, and Canada. Also transcripts of major TV and radio news programs.
Specific newspapers covered in the collection include: The New York Times, The Washington Post, Boston Globe, The London Times, The Atlanta Constitution, Indianapolis Star, and the Times (London). Coverage varies by title. Earliest coverage begins mid-1700s.
Current News Sources in ProQuest from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 2000 state, regional, national and international news sources. Full text.
Includes: Chicago Sun Times, Chicago Tribune, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, New York Times, Star Tribune, Times of London, Wall Street Journal, Wisconsin State Journal. 1984 -

Next Steps

Didn't find anything on your occupation in the databases above? Try a subject specific database. For example, if you are researching dentistry, take a look at the Dentistry or Health Sciences databases using the drop-down menu below.