Career Research: Industry Research

Career Services Center

Location:
  Holthusen Hall, 1st floor
  1324 W. Wisconsin Avenue
  P.O. Box 1881
  Milwaukee, WI 53201-1881
Phone: (414) 288-7423
career.services@marquette.edu

Finding Industry Profiles

Getting started | Not as easy | International industry conditions | About MarketLine

Getting started:

Here are some sources that are easier to use.

First Research Industry Reports (in ABI/Inform Collection)
Primarily focused on the US market, but given the global nature of many industries, this means that they often still provide a good picture of the larger industry. Organized by NAICS codes.
Encyclopedia of American Industries (in Gale Business Insights )
Look for the 'Search Within' box (upper right corner) to search within these reports.
Encyclopedia of Global Industries (in Gale Business Insights)
Look for the 'Search Within' box (upper right corner) to search within these reports.
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries (in Gale Business Insights )
Look for the 'Search Within' box (upper right corner) to search within these reports.

Not as easy ...

Below are links to industry reports from individual publishers, and to databases that contain industry reports. Many of these reports are available in general business databases: where possible, the links go directly to that content, not to a general search screen. But where such direct linking is not possible, the links go to the main database search screen (e.g. Gartner, Passport GMID).

Gale Business Insights from Gale This link opens in a new window
Formerly: Business Insights: Essentials
Searches business journals and magazines, industry reports and encyclopedia articles focusing on company and business information. Indexing 1980-present. Full-text mostly 1990-present.
Formerly: Business Company Resource Center.
Business Source Premier from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches business publications; includes company, country, and industry reports. Good coverage of scholarly business publications. Mostly 1984 - present.
In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 1,570 journals. This database contains popular business publications such as Business Week, Forbes, and Harvard Business Review, and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. Also included is Wall Street Words, a dictionary of financial terms, linked directly to words within the citations and full text. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.

International industry conditions:

In addition to the three sources immediately below, you should know about MarketLine (formerly called Datamonitor), which also has good coverage of industry conditions abroad. Be sure to read the notes below about the databases that offer it ...

Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports (in ABI-Inform Collection)
The content available in ABI-Inform Collection includes the quarterly reports which focus on individual countries and industries, and also monthly Monitor reports and others which focus on broader regions and sectors. Dates of coverage: 2018 - present.
more...less...
Formerly titled "BMI Industry Reports". This content is also available in the database, but requires searching with that title. (BMI = Business Monitor International.)

Passport This link opens in a new window
On first use only, acknowledgement of privacy and security policy required.
Data, reports and analysis about countries, industries, companies and consumers. Includes: economic and social data for ~200 countries; market research reports for ~80 countries; company and consumer profiles. We do NOT subscribe to the Sustainability module.
Video demo on how to search in Passport.
Economic and social indicator data redistributed from IMF, UN, World Bank, OECD. Annual data only.

About MarketLine (formerly Datamonitor) reports:

MarketLine reports are available in two different databases, Ebsco's Business Source Premier, and Refinitiv Workspace's After Market Research module (also called AMR or Investext). Each has advantages and disadvantages. Here're some guidelines for the two:

For PDF formatting, use either Business Source Premier or Refinitiv Workspace's AMR module
For easier searching, use Business Source Premier
For the most complete collection of MarketLine industry and company content, use Refinitiv Workspace
Be aware that Refinitiv Workspace requires registration for an individual account

Workspace from LSEG (formerly Refinitiv Workspace) This link opens in a new window
Individual account registration required. More information on linked page.
Chrome and Safari are the recommended browsers. Intro training videos available here.
For public companies provides: financial data; annual & other reports/filings; analyst & market research reports; M&A, new issues & syndicated loans data. Coverage: ~12,000 US companies & ~41,000 non-US companies.
Download limit of 150 pages / 24-hour period for After Market Research module (aka AMR or Investext).
Formerly called Thomson ONE.
Business Source Premier from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches business publications; includes company, country, and industry reports. Good coverage of scholarly business publications. Mostly 1984 - present.
In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 1,570 journals. This database contains popular business publications such as Business Week, Forbes, and Harvard Business Review, and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. Also included is Wall Street Words, a dictionary of financial terms, linked directly to words within the citations and full text. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.

US Government Reports

Occupational Outlook Handbook (Current Year)
The OOH provides job descriptions, prospects, necessary training and education, income, and work conditions. Published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
more...less...
Reports from 1951-present are available (BOOK FORMAT) on the 4th floor of the Memorial Library (call #: HF5381 .O24). Check the catalog for availability.
Industries at a Glance
Also published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this is a companion to the Occupational Outlook Handbook. The IAG provides broad reports on 100 industries, including occupations in the industry, training and advancement opportunities, earnings, expected job prospects, and working conditions. It also provides links to information about the job market in each State.
O*Net Online
Database developed by the U.S. Department of Labor. Includes detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!
RESEARCH TIP: Scroll to the bottom of a report to link to state-specific occupational data.
Career Onestop
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor offering career resources and workforce information.
Monthly Labor Review
The principal journal of the Bureau of Labor Statistics, an agency within the U.S. Dept. of Labor.
Each month, economists, statisticians, & experts from the Bureau join with private sector professionals and State and local gov. specialists to provide a wealth of research in a wide variety of fields—the labor force, the economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses, wages, prices, & many more.
Employment Projections Program (EPP)
Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Develops information about the labor market for the Nation as a whole for 10 years in the future.
Partnership for Public Service
A nonprofit, nonpartisan organization working to revitalize our federal government by inspiring a new generation to serve and by transforming the way government works. Promotes the importance of a strong civil service, emphasizes leadership skills, lists best Govt agencies to work for and has a FedRecruit section.

Detailed Wage Information

Wisconsin Occupational Employment Statistics
Explore Data Tables for additional information.
Illinois Occupational Employment Statistics
Mostly Excel files.
Minnesota Occupational Employment Statistics
Texas Wage Information Network
View a wide range of wage data, including employment estimates and entry level and experienced level wages. By selecting a specific occupation a user can view detailed information about an occupation, including a description of the occupation, wage ranges, highest paying industries for the specific occupation and an overview of the wage history and how it compares to the same occupation in other areas of the state.
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Wage Data by Area and Occupation
BLS wage data are available by occupation for the Nation, regions, States, and many metropolitan areas.
Occupational Employment Statistics - Bureau of Labor Statistics
Employment and wage estimates for over 800 occupations.