Advertising & Public Relations: Encyclopedias ...

Need Help?

Why background?

Background sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) provide well established summary and factual information. Useful for:

basic concepts and established viewpoints
historical context and relationships to other topics
specialized terms and definitions
data, facts, formulas

Encyclopedias

The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising by John McDonough; Karen Egolf
Call Number: Ref HF 5803 .A38 2003
Publication Date: 2015
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
A good, three-volume encyclopedia for the subject. Includes articles written by Marquette faculty ...
A Companion to Media Studies by Angharad N. Valdivia (Editor)
Call Number: Online only
Publication Date: 2003
VPN required for off-campus access.
Unlimited simultaneous user license.
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies by Matthew Miskelly (project editor)
Call Number: Ref HF 5837 .E53 2000
Publication Date: 2000-2019
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
A continuation of the Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns, this four-volume set profiles major campaigns: discusses campaign's historical context, target market, competition, marketing strategy, and outcome. Volumes 2-4 are online; volume one is print only.
Encyclopedia of Public Relations by Robert L. Heath, ed.
Call Number: Ref HD 59 .E48 2005
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
A very good, two-volume set.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Call Number: Electronic Resource - 2008 edition
Although this encyclopedia covers a broad range of subjects, it does include articles relevant to ADPR. And it's online ...
The Routledge Companion to Public Relations by Donnalyn Pompper; Katie R. Place; C. Kay Weaver (Editors)
Call Number: Online only
Publication Date: 2022
Unlimited simultaneous user license.
The Routledge Handbook of Nonprofit Communication by Gisela Gonçalves; Evandro Oliveira (Editors)
Call Number: Online only
Publication Date: 2022
Unlimited simultaneous user license.

Dictionaries

Advertising Media A to Z: the definitive resource for media planning, buying and research by Jim Suramanek
Call Number: Ref HF 5826.5 .S848 2004
Corporate Communication from A to Z: an encyclopedia for public relations and marketing professionals by Patricia T. Whalen
Call Number: Ref HD 30.3 .W493 2005

Directories for companies

Winmo from List Partners, Inc This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VPN Required for Off Campus Access.
If above link does not work when on campus on wireless, use this link
Database of directory-type information on both advertising agencies and companies which advertise. Has media and channel spending data
NOT included in subscription: AdBeat, Creative, WinmoEdge, or WinmoTalk
Redbooks.com was acquired by Winmo in May 2018; their two products were merged in July 2019. Formerly the print publications Standard Directory of Advertising Agencies and Standard Directory of Advertisers.
SRDS Media Planning Platform from Kantar Media This link opens in a new window
Database of directory information for print and broadcast media; demographic market segmentation information for metro areas and counties (Claritas 360 module). Short video about the Claritas 360 module.
Formerly Standard Rate & Data Service. We subscribe to these modules:
  –   Consumer Magazine Media
  –   Local Media by DMA
  –   Newspaper Media
  –   Radio Media
  –   TV & Cable Media
  –   Claritas 360 (formerly Claritas Segmentation & Market Solutions; and before that, Local Market Audience Analyst; Lifestyle Market Analyst)

O'Dwyer's Directory of Public Relations Firms
Call Number: Raynor Reference HM 263 .O37
Publication Date: 2020
Sorry, print only on this one; check the MARQCAT record for availability.
The O'Dwyers website offers some information and search capabilities though ...

Directories for media

SRDS Media Planning Platform from Kantar Media This link opens in a new window
Database of directory information for print and broadcast media; demographic market segmentation information for metro areas and counties (Claritas 360 module). Short video about the Claritas 360 module.
Formerly Standard Rate & Data Service. We subscribe to these modules:
  –   Consumer Magazine Media
  –   Local Media by DMA
  –   Newspaper Media
  –   Radio Media
  –   TV & Cable Media
  –   Claritas 360 (formerly Claritas Segmentation & Market Solutions; and before that, Local Market Audience Analyst; Lifestyle Market Analyst)

Bacon's Magazine Directory
Call Number: Raynor Reference PN 4784.P8 B38
Bacon's Newspaper Directory
Call Number: Raynor Reference PN 4784.P8 B381
Bacon's Radio Directory
Call Number: Raynor Reference HE 8664 .B33
Bacon's TV/cable Directory
Call Number: Raynor Reference HE 8700.8 .B33
Bowker's News Media Directory
Call Number: Raynor Reference Z 6951 .W65
Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook
Call Number: Raynor Reference HE 8689 .B7723
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
Call Number: Raynor Reference Desk PN 4867 .A97
Television & Cable Factbook
Call Number: Raynor Ref TK 6540 .T453
Willing's Press Guide
Call Number: Raynor Ref Z 6956.E5 W5
"A Guide to the press of the United Kingdom and to the principal publications of Europe, U.S.A., and the Gulf States."