In addition to the journal articles linked above, there are books and websites on the recommended reading list. The books below are either in Reserves (on the lower level of Raynor) or on the 5th floor of Memorial. Look for 'Reserves' in the call number to determine location. Dr. Liu has checked out some of the textbooks on the reading list to make them available at the Dental School. Note that in some cases the book on the reading list is not the latest published edition.
Contemporary Orthodontics by 
Management of Temporomandibular Disorders and Occlusion by
Covering both new and proven techniques in this rapidly changing field, this classic text helps you provide solutions to many common occlusal and TMD problems. Clear descriptions and a new full-color design promote a complete understanding of normal, abnormal, and dysfunctional occlusal relationships and masticatory function and dysfunction. With its conservative, cost-effective approach, this book shows you how to achieve treatment goals while keeping your patients' best interests in mind. Solid foundation of the anatomical, physiological, and biomechanical aspects of the masticatory system gives you the basic foundation for clinical use. Detailed how-to information on clinical examination, data gathering, and differential diagnosis for temporomandibular disorders helps you learn to correctly plan treatment. Clinical Comment boxes give you critical thinking points and instructions on how to apply these to everyday clinical practice. NEW! Robust Q-website features an image library, case studies, and NBDE-style questions. NEW! Full-color design offers more vivid clinical photos, illustrations, and information. NEW! Major revisions to Part II with specific detail to Etiology provides more up-to-date information on this critical area. NEW! Patient education sheets include the most common TMDs. NEW! Updated treatment algorithms are included for each TMD.
Mosby's Orthodontic Review by
Prepare for the NBDE Part II and ABO certification exams the smart way with Mosby's Orthodontic Review! This comprehensive resource offers a concise review of orthodontic concepts, diagnosis, treatment planning, and clinical treatment - all in a question-and-answer format that is ideal for certification and re-certification exam prep, as well as for clinical practice. Plus, clinical case reports allow you to apply your knowledge to real patient scenarios. This is the only review book designed specifically for orthodontics, making it a must-have for students, residents, general dentists, and orthodontists! "This book can be highly recommended; it is good value for money and gives a comprehensive overview of the subject. The publication is suitable for general dentist with an interest in orthodontics, postgraduate students of the subject as well as specialists." Reviewed by: European Journal of Orthodontics Date: March 2015 A practical review makes this book an excellent study tool for the NBDE Part II and the ABO certification exam, helps dentists in general practice and in consultations with orthodontists, and assists experienced orthodontists who wish to review for their recertification and keep up to date with advances in the field. Over 1,000 detailed illustrations - most of them in full color - provide a visual guide to conditions, techniques, diagnoses, and key concepts, and include case study photos showing the progress of treatment from the patient's initial exam to completion. Easy-to-read, question-answer format presents a question such as 'What are the perceived disadvantages of early treatment?' which is followed by a detailed answer describing key information. A case-based approach includes many patient scenarios and clinical case reports, reflecting content on the NBDE and ABO certification exams. NEW Appropriate Timing for Correction of Malocclusions chapter addresses craniofacial growth and development and dentitional development, helping select the proper timing of orthodontic treatment for different problems. NEWVertical Dimensions and Anterior Open Bite chapter covers the etiology, diagnosis and treatment of different types of vertical problems, with case studies varying in the cause and severity of the problems, and with individualized treatment plans based on the functional and skeletal requirements of each patient. NEW Three-Dimensional Update on Clinical Orthodontic Issues chapter addresses the key clinical issues answered with the use of digital models and cone beam CT (CBCT), which is becoming the standard for the investigation of the maxillofacial structures in all three dimensions of the space - especially in orthodontics and maxillofacial surgery. NEW editor Dr. Sercan Akyalcin brings expertise as an award-winning educator and well-respected reviewer for orthodontics journals.
Orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics by 
Ten Cate's Oral Histology by
Understand oral histology and learn to apply your knowledge in the clinical setting with this definitive reference. Now in full color and thoroughly updated, Ten Cate's 8th Edition provides insight on contemporary research and trends in oral histology, embryology, physiology, oral biology, postnatal growth and development that is essential to your success in oral health! NEW! Full color format showcases vivid photomicrographs and line drawings to enhance your understanding of key oral histology learning. NEW! Student resources on Evolve website include labeling exercises, a multiple-choice exam with instant feedback, figures from the book, and interactive drag and drop exercises. NEW! Chapter on facial growth and development broadens your oral histology knowledge base. NEW! Four heavily revised chapters keep you up to date on timely issues in oral histology.
Orthodontics by
A leading orthodontics reference, Orthodontics: Current Principles and Techniques, 5th Edition provides the latest information from the best experts in the field. It reflects today's emerging techniques, including new information on esthetics, genetics, cone-beam and other three-dimensional technologies, and evidence-based treatment. Coverage of diagnosis and treatment ranges from basic to highly complex situations, all in a concise, extensively illustrated format. Also included with this edition is a companion website that includes an electronic version of all chapters, supplemental content in select chapters, and a complete image collection to help with research and presentations. Written by Lee W. Graber, Robert L. Vanarsdall Jr., and Katherine W. L. Vig, along with a team of expert contributors, this is your go-to book for the practical orthodontic information you can use every day. Comprehensive coverage includes foundational theory and the latest on materials and techniques used in today's practice. Full-color photographs make it easy to see and distinguish the subtle differences that are necessary to mastering treatment planning. More than 2,500 images include a mixture of radiographs, clinical photos, and anatomic or schematic line drawings, showing examples of treatments, techniques, and outcomes. Detailed case studies guide you through the decision-making process, showing the consequences of various treatment techniques over time. Extensive references cite the latest in orthodontic research, so it's easy to follow up on evidence-based information. Authoritative research is provided by a team of three experienced, renowned authors/editors along with a team of worldwide experts. Cutting-edge content includes the latest concepts and techniques in orthodontics, including new coverage of temporary anchorage devices, self-ligating bracket biomechanics, clear aligner treatments, technological advances in imaging, and lasers. Improved organization separates topics into six parts and 29 chapters, enhancing both learning and research. Chapter outlines serve as a handy reference tool for practitioners and researchers. New lead author Dr. Lee Graber adds a fresh perspective to the experience of authors Drs. Robert Vanarsdall Jr., and Katherine W. L. Vig. Access to a companion website includes an electronic version of all chapters, plus case studies, a complete image collection, and supplemental content.
Raynor Memorial Libraries
Milwaukee, WI 53233
Information Services: (414) 288-7556
Report an accessibility
problem.
To report another problem, please contact: kelly.kobiela@marquette.edu
