Dentistry: EBD

All aspects of dentistry from chair-side tools to evidence based dentistry to board exam preparation to practice management

Journals with summaries of evidence

Summaries of evidence are quick ways to keep up with the literature. They are written by experts but should nonetheless be read critically. Visit the journal homepages to set up issue alerts.

Evidence-Based Dentistry
See the Toolbox section for search tools and more. See the DEBT (Dental Evidence-Based Topics) section for critical summaries with a broader focus (a topic or question) as opposed to a single study or review. Published by bimonthly by Nature and the British Dental Association
The Journal of Evidence-Based Dental Practice
Includes original articles as well as reviews. Published quarterly by Elsevier.

ADA EBD Center

ADA EBD Center
**See the Resources link for lots of useful tools and sources.
Includes database of systematic reviews with a simple keyword search and topic arrangement. It is only updated quarterly. The database currently has over 1600 systematic reviews.
Clinical Practice Guidelines
Critical Summaries
Includes: 1) a brief summary of the Systematic Review; 2) a critique of the systematic review methods as well as the identified evidence; and 3) implications for clinicians

Different study types provide better evidence for different question types

Different single study types (e.g., randomized controlled trials or cohort studies) provide higher levels of evidence for different types of clinical questions (e.g, diagnosis, treatment or prognosis).

Levels of Evidence
lists study types and levels based on question type; from the Centre for Evidence Based Medicine
Question type and study design
useful image from the Dahlgren Memorial Library at Georgetown

PubMed

PubMed from National Institutes of Health This link opens in a new window
International coverage of over 5,600 journals in biomedicine, including allied health, nursing, and dentistry. Limited full-text. 1946 - present.
If email and send to functions do not work correctly, use this link.
Includes access to other NCBI databases including molecular biology and genomic resources.

PubMed Health
Covers reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports. Searches over 18,000 systematic reviews and health technology assessments in the last 10 years. Simultaneously searches PubMed. Pulls from several US and European sources.

Evidence-Based Dentistry

Centre for Evidence-Based Dentistry
Institute of Health Sciences, Oxford
CASP Appraisal Tools
worksheets to help you appraise different types of studies
Cochrane Oral Health Group
Part of the Cochrane Collaboration, it is an international network of healthcare professionals, researchers and consumers preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic reviews of randomized controlled trials in oral health. Oral health is broadly conceived to include the prevention, treatment and rehabilitation of oral, dental and craniofacial diseases and disorders.
The Dental Elf - UK
a daily blog providing brief summaries highlighting evidence-based publications
Evidence-Based Dentistry (journal)
published by British Dental J. and Nature Publishing Group; *Available to Marquette users only
Evidence-based Endodontics Literature Database
A search interface for PubMed
Practising EBD - CEBD
Details the 5 steps: Question, Find, Appraise, Act, Evaluate
PRISMA Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses
"an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses" Includes downloadable 27-item checklist and a flow chart.

Cochrane Library

Cochrane Library from Wiley This link opens in a new window
Works best through Chrome
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Clinical Answers, and other evidence-based resources.

Quick overview

Here is a recent 2 part overview of EBD by the librarian for the Canadian Dental Association, Danielle Rabb-Waytowich, and published in their journal.

Clinical Queries

PubMed Clinical Queries
Enter your search terms, select a category and choose a narrow or broad search. As always, to see how your search has been run, click on the Details tab on the results page.

EBD Books

Clinical Research in Oral Health by William V. Giannobile, Brian A. Burt, Robert J. Genco (eds.)
Publication Date: 2010
Single user license.
"Illustrates the principles and practice of oral health clinical research. Clarifies the framework of regulatory issues and presents emerging concepts in clinical translation, relating the research principles to clinical improvement."
Evidence-Based Decision Making by Jane L. Forrest; Syrene A. Miller; Michael G. Newman; Pamela R. Overman
Call Number: Lemonis Level 5 RK51.5 .E95 2009
Publication Date: 2008
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Manual of Evidence-Based Research for the Health Sciences by Francesco Chiappelli
Call Number: Lemonis Level 5 RK53 .M36 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Evidence-Based Dentistry: Managing Information for Better Practice
Call Number: Lemonis Level 5 RK53 .E95 2008
View MARQCAT record to check availability and to see the table of contents
Evidence-Based Dentistry by Allan Hackshaw; Elizabeth Paul; Elizabeth Davenport
Call Number: Lemonis Level 5 RK53 .H33 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Evidence Based Dentistry for Effective Practice by Jan Clarkson (Editor); Jayne E. Harrison (Editor); Amid I. Ismail (Editor); Ian Needleman (Editor); Helen Worthington (Editor)
Call Number: Lemonis Level 5 RK28.7 .E85 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Check MARQCAT for print availability.