Dentistry: Web Sites

All aspects of dentistry from chair-side tools to evidence based dentistry to board exam preparation to practice management

Need Help?

Ask us!

Evaluating Websites

Lack of systematic quality control means critical evaluation of Web sites is crucial. When evaluating web resources, consider:

Authority: Is the author or site sponsor clearly identified? Can you find credentials and contact information?
Objectivity: Is the site's purpose clear? Is it directed toward a specific audience?
Coverage: Are the topics covered clear? In depth? Balanced? Are ideas and opinions backed up by evidence?
Accuracy: Are sources cited? Can you verify accuracy of facts and other information with other sources in the field?
Currency: Are the dates included in the website? Is the information current, or at least still relevant for the site's and your purpose?

Taken from: Ramage, Bean and Johnson. The Allyn and Becon Guide to Writing. 5th Ed. customized for Marquette University. Boston: Pearson Education, Inc., 2009: 602.

Dental Education and Boards

American Board of Forensic Odontology
American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
American Board of Oral Implantology/Implant Dentistry
American Board of Orthodontics
See Exam Preparation tab on this guide for ABO Exam resources
American Board of Prosthodontics
American Dental Board of Anesthesiology
American Dental Education Assn
American Student Dental Assn
Education & Careers - American Dental Assn
Topics include continuing ed., licensure, accreditation and more
National Board Dental Exams - ADA
American Association of Dental Boards

Evidence-Based Dentistry

Centre for Evidence-Based Dentistry
Institute of Health Sciences, Oxford
CASP Appraisal Tools
worksheets to help you appraise different types of studies
Cochrane Oral Health Group
Part of the Cochrane Collaboration, it is an international network of healthcare professionals, researchers and consumers preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic reviews of randomized controlled trials in oral health. Oral health is broadly conceived to include the prevention, treatment and rehabilitation of oral, dental and craniofacial diseases and disorders.
The Dental Elf - UK
a daily blog providing brief summaries highlighting evidence-based publications
Evidence-Based Dentistry (journal)
published by British Dental J. and Nature Publishing Group; *Available to Marquette users only
Evidence-based Endodontics Literature Database
A search interface for PubMed
Practising EBD - CEBD
Details the 5 steps: Question, Find, Appraise, Act, Evaluate
PRISMA Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses
"an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses" Includes downloadable 27-item checklist and a flow chart.

Guidelines

ADA Clinical Practice Guidelines
FDI Policy Statements - FDI World Dental Federation
Declarations that lay out the current thinking on various issues related to oral health, oral health policies and the dental profession. FDI Policy Statements are put together through consultation, discussion and consensus among leading dental experts from around the world.
Infection Control in Dental Settings - CDC
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Searchable and browsable by condition, organization and more. U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services

Public Health

Advancing Oral Health in America - Institute of Medicine
In this Consensus Report, "the IOM recommends that HHS design an oral health initiative consistent with IOM’s proposed set of organizing principles, which are based on the areas in greatest need of attention and on the approaches that have the most potential for creating improvements. In addition, the IOM stresses three key areas needed for successfully maintaining oral health as a priority issue: strong leadership, sustained interest, and the involvement of multiple stakeholders."
American Assn for Community Dental Programs
"Serving the oral health needs of vulnerable populations at the community level"
Dental Visits/Use/Events and Expenditures
Collects information on the nature of any dental care visit/use/event, type of dental care provider, treatments and services performed, and prescribed medicines. source: Medical Expenditure Panel Survey from the AHRQ, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center - Georgetown U.
This rich source includes Bright Futures in Practice: Oral Health Pocket Guide, Dental Sealant Resource Guide, Knowledge Path: Oral Health and Children and Adolescents and Pregnant Women, Head Start publications and more.
Oral Health - World Health Organization (WHO)
Includes fact sheet and list of free publications.
Oral Health America
OHA is a non-profit whose mission is to improve public health by eliminating oral disease, especially for the country’s most vulnerable citizens. OHA works to accomplish this by educating and empowering communities to provide access to care, and by advocating for policies that create oral health parity.
Oral Health Atlas: Mapping a Neglected Global Health Issue - fdi
View the World Tables for statistics from many countries; 2nd ed. released 2015
Oral Health Country/Area Profile Programe - WHO (World Health Org)
"Our objective is to present information on dental diseases and oral health services for various countries/areas."
Revisiting Oral Health in America: A Report of the Surgeon General
Oral Health Advocacy Initiative - Amer Acad of Pediatrics
Oral Health Resources - CDC
School Oral Health Services - OHRC
Wisconsin Oral Health Program - Dept. of Health & Family Services
Oral Health Care During Pregnancy: A Nat'l Consensus Statement - OHRC

Special Needs Patients

Children with Special Health Care Needs
Several full text publications from the National Maternal & Child Oral Health Resource Center
HIVdent
"The Internet's HIV/AIDS Oral Healthcare Resource"
iADH: International Association for Disability and Oral Health
See the Magazine and the Links
Oral Health Services for Children & Adolescents with Special Health Care Needs, 2nd ed.
from the Nat'l Maternal & Child Health Resource Ctr "Provides annotated lists of journal articles, materials, and organizations that may serve as resources. Topics include continuing education for professionals, financing of care, disease prevention and early intervention strategies, public education, and state and national data and programs."
Special Care Tutorial: An Oral Health Professional's Guide to Serving Young Children with Special Health Care Needs
Includes 5 modules and post-tests. From the National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center
Special Needs Fact Sheets for Providers and Caregivers
"Fact sheets for 14 mild to moderate manifestations of special needs conditions have been developed for Dental Professionals, Medical Professionals & Parents and Caregivers." Created by the U. of Washington and Washington State Dept. of Health's Oral Health Program

Consumer Health

Consumer Brochures - Oral Health Resource Center
free printable color brochures in English and Spanish
Dental Health: MedlinePlus
Dental information from one of the most trusted consumer health sites, produced by the same group as Medline
Dental Watch
"Your Guide to Intelligent Dental Care"
Know Your Teeth - Academy of General Dentistry
Mouth and Teeth topics - MedlinePlus
Reliable consumer information from the same entity responsible for PubMed; includes multimedia and Spanish language resources
MouthHealthy.org - American Dental Association
mychildrensteeth.org - American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry
Oral Cancer Foundation
"Information, Support, Advocacy, Research... and Hope"

Marquette University

Raynor Memorial Libraries

Raynor Memorial Libraries

Dentistry: Web Sites

Evaluating Websites

Dental Education and Boards

Evidence-Based Dentistry

Guidelines

Public Health

Special Needs Patients

Consumer Health

Associations

Location

Key Resources

Libraries A to Z

Problem with this webpage?