Skip to Main Content

|   Research Guides

Find Research Services About Accounts
MARQUETTE.EDU
close Menu

SEARCH RAYNOR

Find Archival Collections Collections Digitized Collections (e-Archives) Encyclopedias, Dictionaries Institutional Repository Location of Books/Periodicals Off Campus Access Research Databases A-Z
Research Citation Software Citation Style Guides Library Classes, Tours and Workshops Research Guides Research Consultations Subject Specialists/Liaisons
Services Borrow Chargers & Equipment Conference Center Digital Scholarship Funding Information Center Interlibrary Loan Laptop Checkout Poster Printing Printing Remote Computer Access Request Forms Software/Hardware List
About Hours Jobs (student & staff) Library Basics Library Policies Other Libraries Staff Directory Visitor Policy
Accounts Catalog (MARQCAT) Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD) Refworks
Locations Brew @ the Bridge Center for Teaching and Learning Classroom Reservations Digital Media Editing Room Faculty Research Carrels Floor Plans Graduate Student Research Carrels Group Study Rooms Lemonis Center for Student Success Ott Writing Center TechSquad (ITS)

RAYNOR A TO Z

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
facebook instagram x twitter youtube
close submenu

In This Guide:

Why Books?

Books are useful for:

  • in depth information,
  • historical context,
  • overview, synthesis and analysis.

Check the table of contents:  often a chapter or two are all that is needed.

Biological Sciences: Book Search

MARQCAT Search


Evaluating Books

The quality and relevance of information in books needs to be evaluated. What to look for:

Authority of the authors, editors - Determine the expertise of the authors, does it match the subject content of their writing?

Scope of Content - Does the content cover your topic to the degree you need? Is it in-depth or does it simply provide an overview with little facts, details, analysis?

Timeliness - Is the content timely for your topic. This is determined somewhat by the time period of your topic.

For help finding book reviews see this research guide:
Book Reviews

E-Book Collection

New biology books

E-Books

Search other Libraries

Look for books and other items in libraries near and far. Most items you find may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Google Books

Google Books is a great resource for finding books and gives a preview of what the book is about and often short sections to view.

There is a link to see if your local library library owns the book and you can see if any of the local libraries have the book!

Google Book Search