Biological Sciences: Tutorials & Multimedia

PubMed Tutorial

PubMed is a literature index, used for identifying articles of interest. PubMed records link to related items in other resources.

A collection of animated tutorials from Sumanas, Inc.
Topics include meiosis, mitosis, evolution of organelles, cell respiration and more. Includes an interactive quiz.
Cell Structure
Compares, prokaryotic, animal and plant cells; interactive quiz allows user to select components for the various cell types.
Cell Biology Animations
by biologist John Kyrk

3D Animation Library - Dolan DNA Learning Center
Biological Animations
by John L. Giannini of St. Olaf College
Biology Animation Library - Dolan DNA Learning Center
A collection of animated tutorials from Sumanas, Inc.
Topics include meiosis, mitosis, evolution of organelles, cell respiration and more. Includes an interactive quiz.
Instructional Multimedia
Produced by the Dept. of the Biological Sciences of the U. of Alberta, these animations cover cell biology, micro, genetics, immunology and more.
Learn.Genetics™
Includes tutorials, videos and virtual labs
Neuroscience Animations - HHMI's BioInteractive
Brief animations from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Neuroscience Video Clips - HHMI's BioInteractive
Brief videos from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute

BEN
Searchable collection of peer-reviewed educational resources. You can limit your retrieval to the free resources. Browse by subject, resource type or audience level. Contains over 15,000 resources, many of which are free.
more...less...
Started in 1999 by the AAAS and 11 other societies and collaboratives, is is now the National Science Digital Library (NSDL) Pathway for biological sciences education. Resources have been reviewed by the individual societies for standards of quality and accuracy.

Genome Sequencing Video Tour
The tour include segments featuring an exploration of current genomic research in a pathogenic bacteria and an animated explanation of the chemistry of cycle sequencing. It was created by Professor Sarah C.R. Elgin at Washington University.