Biological Sciences: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & More

Need Help?

Why background?

Background sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) provide well established summary and factual information. Useful for:

Encyclopedia of Evolution by Stanley Rice; Massimo Pigliucci (Introduction by)
Call Number: Reference QH360.2 .R53 2007
Publication Date: 2006
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Featuring more than 200 cross-referenced entries, the encyclopedia also includes five essays, interspersed throughout the text, that explore ethical issues related to evolutionary science, in addition to biographies of modern evolutionary scientists who have had or continue to have a major impact on evolutionary science.
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics, and Bioinformatics by 8 vol.
Call Number: Reference QH431 .E62 2005
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
v. 1-2. Genetics, v. 3-4. Genomics, v. 5-6. Proteomics, v. 7-8. Bioinformatics

A Dictionary of Biology by Elizabeth Martin (Editor)
Call Number: QH 302.5 .D5 2004
Publication Date: 2004
5th edition. Check MARQCAT record for availability.
The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology by 4th ed.
Call Number: Reference QH575 .D52 2007
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
With over 10,000 entries, it incorporates related terms from neuroscience, genetics, microbiology, immunology, pathology, and physiology.
A Dictionary of Genetics by Robert C. King, William D. Stansfield, Pamela K. Mulligan
Call Number: Reference QH427 .K55 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Check MARQCAT record for print availability.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by Anthony Smith (editor)
Call Number: Reference QP512 .O94 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Check MARQCAT for availability and location.
There are over 21000 main entries, which provide details of biochemical substances and the processes in which they are involved, define methods and concepts in molecular biology, and give definitions of biochemical symbols and abbreviations. illustrated with over 900 chemical structures.
Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology by Paul Singleton; Diana Sainsbury
Call Number: Reference QR9 .S56 2001
Publication Date: 2002
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Includes over 18,000 entries ranging from concise definitions of terms to review-length articles and covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology.

Anatomy.tv from Primal Pictures This link opens in a new window
Provides images and video of human anatomy models and scans.
Accessibility notice: the content of this database is visually-based and requires navigation with a mouse: it is not fully accessible to students with visual impairment and/or who require assistive technology. If students are required to use this database in a course, the faculty member is required to insert a statement in the syllabus indicating that students with disabilities will need assistance to fully utilize the database.
Includes Regional, Systemic, and Sports & Therapy modules. Specialty titles include Dentistry, Head & Neck: Basic Neuroanatomy, and Speech Language Pathology. Features interactive 3D human anatomy models (The 3D Real-time Body), MRI scans, quizzes, movies, interactive animations and more. Content may be exported for use in lectures, student presentations or patient handouts.

Color Atlas of Genetics by E. Passarge
Call Number: QH436 .P3713 2007
Publication Date: 2005
Check MARQCAT for print availability and location.
Covers the fundamentals of genetics, genetic disease processes, and genome organization.
Quantities, Symbols, Units, and Abbreviations in the Life Sciences by Arnost Kotyk
Call Number: Reference QH304.5 .Q36 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
All the symbols, units, and abbreviations are defined, with commentary and some etymological background frequently provided.