Companies & Finance: Stock Quotes

Current quotes, quick & easy

In addition to current quotes, all of the sources below have some historical quotes data. How much varies, as does the ease of getting to it! For more on historical stock quotes, see below.

Yahoo! Finance
Probably one of the easiest out there, and free!

Gale Business Insights from Gale This link opens in a new window
This database is more of a portal, and provides considerably more than just articles.
To get to the stock quotes: after you're in the company profile, click on Financials (under Related Content). From there, look for the Financials Dashboard tab, where you'll find the stock quotes.
Formerly: Business Company Resource Center.
Mergent Online from Mergent This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international company data.
To find the stock quotes: After a company search, look for the Equity Pricing tab in the top menu bar.
Supply Chain reports cover US public companies primarily in the tech, biotech, and financial sectors. They include information on competitors (by product), customers, market structure, and more. The information is drawn from SEC filings, trade articles, and more. Formerly called Horizon Reports.
Workspace from LSEG (formerly Refinitiv Workspace) This link opens in a new window
Individual account registration required. More information on linked page.
Chrome and Safari are the recommended browsers. Intro training videos available here.
For public companies provides: financial data; annual & other reports/filings; analyst & market research reports; M&A, new issues & syndicated loans data. Coverage: ~12,000 US companies & ~41,000 non-US companies.
Download limit of 150 pages / 24-hour period for After Market Research module (aka AMR or Investext).
Formerly called Thomson ONE.

About finding historical quotes

Whenever you're looking for historical stock quotes, please be aware that there can be pitfalls. There will be breaks, or interruptions, in the data if your company has:

–   Changed names
–   Changed ticker symbols
–   Been acquired or sold, merged, or gone private.

When there is a company name or ticker symbol change, the older name/ticker is considered inactive; but that older name/ticker is still usually what you will have to use when searching for the data.

Be prepared to look up your company's history, and to get a timeline of what happened when in its history in order to understand any breaks in your stock quote data. Here are suggestions on finding corporate histories.

Historical quotes

If you've never looked for historical quotes before, please read the notes above about the difficulties you may encounter ...

Yahoo! Finance
Look for Historical Quotes in the left margin after you've entered a ticker. This will only work for stocks that are still in existence, and whose names/tickers have not changed through time -- Yahoo! Finance has no data for companies that no longer exist. Data goes back to the 1960's for some stocks.

Mergent Online from Mergent This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international company data.
After a company search, look for the Equity Pricing tab in the top menu bar. By default, you'll see 3 years of data, but using the 'Controls' area, you can get a lot more. This database is fairly easy to use ...
Supply Chain reports cover US public companies primarily in the tech, biotech, and financial sectors. They include information on competitors (by product), customers, market structure, and more. The information is drawn from SEC filings, trade articles, and more. Formerly called Horizon Reports.
Workspace from LSEG (formerly Refinitiv Workspace) This link opens in a new window
Individual account registration required. More information on linked page.
Chrome and Safari are the recommended browsers. Intro training videos available here.
For public companies provides: financial data; annual & other reports/filings; analyst & market research reports; M&A, new issues & syndicated loans data. Coverage: ~12,000 US companies & ~41,000 non-US companies.
Download limit of 150 pages / 24-hour period for After Market Research module (aka AMR or Investext).
Formerly called Thomson ONE.

CRSP (via WRDS)

CRSP (The Center for Research in Security Prices; at the University of Chicago) is the ultimate source for historical stock quotes (data can go back to 1925). We offer it through the WRDS interface, which requires that you 'register' for a day pass using your MU email account.

You'll find the same difficulties in using CRSP as for other sources for historical stock quotes, all related to the history of the company, and the forms (and names and ticker symbols) it has had.

WRDS from Wharton Research Data Services This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VPN Required for Off Campus Access.
If above link does not work when on campus on wireless, use this link
Database of datasets from various sources; primarily financial and economic data. ACCESS: You must register for a day access pass using your Marquette email address. (The VPN is also required for day access pass registration from off-campus.) Video tutorials/demos are available.
Faculty / graduate students may request individual accounts for storage space on the WRDS servers. Two-factor authentication is required for individual user accounts! See More for details.
About 2-factor authentication:
–  How to log into WRDS using 2FA.
–  FAQ for two-factor authentication with Duo.
Dataset subscriptions:
–  Audit Analytics: Audit + Compliance and Corporate + Legal datasets
–  CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices)
–  Compustat (from Capital IQ, formerly S&P): North America, Global, and ExecuComp datasets
–  Eventus: a software package that performs event studies to compute abnormal returns for specific corporate actions or events using data directly from the CRSP stock database.
–  IHS Global Insight (also available directly on the vendor's platform Connect, from Capital IQ)
–  ISS Directors and Governance datasets (Institutional Shareholders Services; formerly called RiskMetrics and before that IRRC, or Investor Responsibility Research Center)