Databases provide a systematic method of searching for articles, and other documents, on your topic. Some databases include full text of the documents they index but many do not. See also the PubMed & Medline Comparison document that spells out the differences in the databases and the search interfaces. See the EBD tab for Clinical Queries.
The top databases for biomedical sciences are:

Once you have your research question or topic, identify key concepts and keywords.

In PubMed (Entrez interface):

• Enter one concept at a time; a single word or a phrase is fine.
• Enter your search terms without punctuation or Boolean operators (AND, OR). Using these turns off mapping.
• Pay attention to how your search as been mapped, or translated into Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), by looking at the Details on the lower right side bar. Click on "See more..." to view in full screen.
• If the automatic mapping doesn't go well you can try a synonym (sometimes switching from singular to plural can change the mapping result!) MeSH terms tend to be plural. If searching a phrase, changing word order can also alter the result. Try the MeSH Database by choosing 'MeSH' from the drop down menu where PubMed is listed. An example of this is that [root canal] maps to Dental Pulp Cavity rather than the procedure. In the MeSH Database you'll see several entries, including Root Canal Therapy.

Note that the default PubMed search strategy is very broad: it searches each term in every field and ANDs them together. This is normally very helpful. You can edit the search on the Details screen to improve the focus of the search. This can be effective if very common words are included in search terms.

Medline (Ovid):

Medline (Ovid interface) has superior translation from keywords to MeSH -- if you are having trouble finding an appropriate MeSH term for your search concept, try that interface.

• Ovid advantage: Ovid has an algorithm for mapping so it is more successful in matching MeSH term(s) to your entry term(s).It was created for Medline and is very good at showcasing the structure of the records and the many available search options.
• Ovid disadvantage: it is not free. You are unlikely to have access to it after graduation. It can still be instructive, so feel free to use it while you are here and incorporate the lessons learned in your PubMed searching.

See the Appraising the Evidence tab in the general EB guide for more on this.

Here's a short video showing how Find it @ MU works. (About 4 minutes long.)

Two common ways to find out if the Libraries have access to the articles you need:

1) You are searching in an article database, but it doesn't have the full-text:  

Click on  in the article citation. Another window / tab opens with two possible options:

• Links indicating Find it @MU may have located one or more sources for full text of the article. Click on the links and follow the trail to the article. 
• Links to search MARQCAT by the journal title or its ISSN number. The journal may be available in print or electronically through a source not searchable by Find it @MU.

2) You already have a specific citation and aren't currently searching in a database:

• Search for the journal title in MARQCAT, the library catalog;
• Do not search the title or author of the article, MARQCAT doesn't contain article level information.

The MARQCAT record will indicate what years we have in print and/or online, providing call number locations for the print and links to the e-journal.  Once at the e-journal, navigate to the volume, issue and page that you need.

Questions:

Didn't find the article/journal using Find it @MU or MARQCAT?  Request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) by clicking on the link at the bottom of the Find it @MU window or tab.  Learn more about ILL here.

Ever wonder why the full-text isn't there?  Watch this short video about the Business of Information.