skip to main content

Raynor Library

Political Science: Reference Sources

Guide to Resources and Reference Assistance for Political Science

Need Help?

Online reference collections

Start with one of these online collections of reference books (Gale Virtual Reference Library is my first recommendation).

Below are some examples of individual encyclopedias and handbooks ...

Gale eBooks from Gale This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 400+ resources covering a broad selection of topics.
Covers arts, business, communication, drama, history, medicine, religion, social science and more.

Encyclopedias

CountryReports
This database of data on countries is provided by the Milwaukee Public Library. You must have a valid Milwaukee Public Library card and personal identification number (PIN) to access this database. 1800-1900.

CultureGrams: World Edition from Axiom Press This link opens in a new window
Brief profiles of 181 countries. Includes some cultural information appropriate for travelers.
Includes 25 categories such as Land & Climate, People, Customs & Courtesies, Lifestyle, Society, History, Religion, Family, and Economy. Also has multimedia content such as typical greetings and the national anthem.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Online annotated bibliography on Latin America. A standard resource produced by the Library of Congress. Available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Oxford Handbooks Online - Political Science from Oxford Univ. Press This link opens in a new window
Full text handbooks covering the major topics in Political Science. Marquette does not have access to all titles in this collection.

Location

Raynor Library

1355 W. Wisconsin Ave.

Milwaukee, WI 53233

Information Services: (414) 288-7556

Key Resources

Libraries A to Z

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Problem with this webpage?

Report an accessibility problem.

To report another problem, please contact: brendan.lenzner@marquette.edu

Privacy Policy Legal Disclaimer Non-Discrimination Policy

© Marquette University