This page highlights 5 tips for your first semester --- how to get help from the library, how to meet with a librarian from your subject area, where to find databases and journals from your subject areas, how to get full text access, and how to access materials when you're off-campus. Scroll for more infomration!

Raynor librarians are happy to talk with you one on one, in person or virtually, to familiarize you with library services and resources and to give you specific assistance with your research. Request a consultation using the web form below. For immediate assistance, please visit the Library Services Desk on Raynor's first floor or use the 24/7 chat available from the library homepage. 

Databases: The library subscribes to more than 500 online article, data, text and image databases, ranging from discipline-specific subjects, such as CINAHL (nursing), LION (literature), and PsycInfo (psychology) to multidisciplinary databases, such as WorldCat, Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe, and ProQuest Research Library.

Journals: The libraries provide access to more than 34,000 journals and other serials in digital format, including large e-journal "families" such as JSTOR, Project MUSE, American Chemical Society, IEEE, and Institute of Physics. 

Getting to the full text of an article or an eBook from MARQCAT or MARQCAT+ sometimes takes a simple click, and other times it takes a few steps. 

First, check for PDF, HTML, and ePUB links

If you see one of these three icon links, you can simply click on it to open a full-text copy of the resource to read online. You can download PDFs and EPUBs to read offline.

If none, check for the Findit@MU button 

If you don't see a PDF, HTML, or EPUB link, click on  . Another window / tab will open with two possible contents:

• Link(s) to one or more sources for full text of the article. Follow the links to reach the article. 

• Link(s) to search MARQCAT by the journal title or its ISSN number. The journal may be available in print or electronically through a source not searchable by Find it @MU.

The last resort: Interlibrary loan (ILL) 

If Marquette does have access to a particular item, you can request that item through interlibrary loan. This is a free service for students. See below for more information on the interlibrary loan portal, ILLIAD, where you can request items. 

If you are searching for a known, specific journal article, use MARQCAT

The MARQCAT catalog interface is excellent for known-item searches--easier to use than searching a database. Here are the steps to follow:

1. Search for the journal title in MARQCAT, the library catalog; do not search for the title or author of the article, MARQCAT does not contain article-level information.
2. Review the MARQCAT record for the journal title. It will indicate what years we have in print and/or online, providing call number locations for the print and links to the e-journal. 
3. Once at the e-journal, navigate to the volume, issue and page that you need

Interlibrary Loan Introduction video (6:23) Captions available. 

To access library materials off-campus, you need to go through an "authentication process." This process lets our vendors know that you are affiliated with Marquette. See below for the two types of authentication - library login and VPN. 

Library Log-in 

To access most articles, databases, ebooks, and streaming videos, you will need to "log in" to the library to verify your identity. You can access MOST library materials using Library Login without the VPN. 

If you select a database from the A-Z list or click on an item from the library catalog, you will be directed to this screen. Enter your Marqnet credentials (what you use for Checkmarq). After you input your credentials, you will be directed to the resource you wanted. 

If you want to use MarqCat+, you will see a screen like this. Click on the "Hello Guest. Login for Full Access"

This will take you to the library login authentication portal. Fill in your Marquette credentials. Click Submit. It will then direct you back to your original search results page from MarqCat+. 

VPN Access

Some library resources cannot be accessed from off-campus via the Library Login method. A VPN connection is required for these.

Follow the instructions for downloading the VPN client on your mobile device and your computer. (Both are needed.)

1. Connect to the GlobalProtect VPN using your MARQNET Username and password
2. Acknowledge the message received on your mobile device (iPhone, Android, tablet, etc.). Once the message is acknowledged the VPN will connect to Marquette's network.
3. Go to the Library website and start your research

Questions? Contact ITS Help Desk: (414) 288-7799 or helpdesk@marquette.edu .

If you're having an issue finding or accessing online materials or need research support, just ask us! Raynor librarians will assist you whether you're on site or online. The "Ask a Librarian" link below directs you a page with a variety of ways to reach us.