Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering: Background Information

Need Help?

Why background?

Background sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) provide well established summary and factual information. Useful for:

basic concepts and established viewpoints
historical context and relationships to other topics
specialized terms and definitions
data, facts, formulas

Handbooks & Encyclopedias

Civil Engineer's Reference Book by L. S. Blake (Editor)
After an examination of fundamental theories as applied to civil engineering, authoritative coverage is included on design practice for certain materials and specific structures and applications. A particular feature is the incorporation of chapters on construction and site practice, including contract management and control.
Civil Engineering Formulas by Tyler G. Hicks
Call Number: TA331 .H53 2010
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Compilation of all essential civil engineering formulas and equations in one easy-to-use reference.
*Ebook is 1st edition, print is 2nd edition.
Civil Engineering Handbook by Walter Griffin
Call Number: TA145 .C58 2013
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Provides extensive coverage of the major areas of civil engineering.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering by James R. Pfafflin (Editor); J. R. Pfafflin; E. N. Ziegler
Call Number: TD9 .E5 2006
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
The most comprehensive, authoritative reference available in this field.
Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations
Call Number: TA332 .H36 2016
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Covering all aspects of civil engineering calculations in an easy-to-understand format,
Handbook of Complex Environmental Remediation Problems by Jay H. Lehr; Marve Hyman; Tyler Gass; William J. Seevers
Publication Date: 2002
Comprehensive review of every current engineering solution, and provides expert help with waste minimization and pollution prevention.
Single user license.
Handbook of Structural Engineering by W. F. Chen (Editor); E. M Lui (Editor)
Call Number: TA633 .H36 2005
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Comprehensive reference to the broad spectrum of structural engineering, encapsulating the theoretical, practical, and computational aspects of the field.
Highway Engineering Handbook by Roger L. Brockenbrough
Call Number: TE23 .H484 2009
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Compiles all the data necessary for efficient and cost-effective highway design, building, rehabilitation, and maintenance.