Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering: Article Search

Need Help?

Ask us!

Why Articles?

Articles appear in magazines, journals, periodicals, and newspapers. Use articles for:

most recent research on a topic
coverage of very narrow topics
coverage of current events
contemporary accounts of past events and research

Evaluating Articles

Evaluate articles by:

Purpose: Is the purpose to inform, entertain, persuade or educate?
Objectivity: Are various sides or points-of-view represented?
Author: Does the author have expertise on the topic?
Date: Is the information current or timely for your topic?
Bibliography: Are the sources of information cited completely and accurately?

Article Databases

Databases provide a systematic method of searching for articles, conference papers, technical reports and other documents on your topic. The top databases for Civil and Environmental Engineering are:

Civil Engineering Database from ASCE This link opens in a new window
Indexes all ASCE journals, conference proceedings and other publications.
Includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of journal articles, conference papers, books, standards, manuals, magazine articles, and newsletters. Marquette subscribes to all ASCE journals and purchases many of the other ASCE publications, check MARQCAT for call numbers. ASCE journals from 1999- present are also available online through links in MARQCAT. 1973 to present.
Compendex (Engineering Index) from Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Indexes engineering articles, reports, and conference proceedings from all areas of engineering. 1970-Present. A back file covering 1884-1969 is also available.
Dissertations and Theses Global from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Extensive North American coverage, lesser European coverage. Full-text availability varies by author's permission.
ECOLEX from Ecolex This link opens in a new window
Database of environmental law.
Combines the legal library of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO), the World Conservation Union (IUCN), and the UN Environment Programme (UNEP).
Environment Complete from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Full-text for 750+ journals on environmentally-related topics.
GreenFILE from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly, general interest, and government sources regarding human effects on the environment.
Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
National Technical Reports Library – NTIS from U.S. Dept of Commerce Technology Administration This link opens in a new window
Federally funded technology research reports freely available on the public access NTRL website. The NTRL is open to all users for search and discovery.
SAE MobilUS from Society of Automotive Engineers This link opens in a new window
Formerly called SAE Digital Library. Index of documents related to mobility engineering, including ground & aerospace vehicles, fuels, emissions and manufacturing.
Indexing covers early 1900’s to the present. Full text of SAE documents begins in 1998.
SPIE Digital Library from SPIE This link opens in a new window
This site provides full-text access to SPIE journals and proceedings. Full-text journal articles are available from 2001 to the present.
National Transportation Library from Bureau of Transportation This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of transportation publications.
Includes bibliographic records of material published in books, journal articles, technical reports and other media, including coverage of Federal, state, local and association publications and conference proceedings. Selected links to full text or sources of full text are included. 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years.
Web of Science from Clarivate Analytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches 12,000+ scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. Cited Reference Search locates articles that have cited an older document. Limited full-text access.
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); the Science Citation Index and the Social Science Citation Index (1900-present for both); and the Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).