Nurse Anesthesia Program: Nursing Databases

Library and campus resources to help with research.

Need Help?

Nursing Databases Top

CINAHL
Indexing to over 500 English-language journals in nursing and allied health, as well as to ANA and NLN publications, selected healthcare books, dissertations, audiovisual materials, standards of practice and conference proceedings. 1982 to present.
more...less...
Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature, this database is very good for articles in the various therapy fields: physical, occupational, etc.

Cochrane Library from Wiley This link opens in a new window
Works best through Chrome
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Clinical Answers, and other evidence-based resources.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Use Google Scholar to supplement research in other databases.

JBI EBP Database from Ovid This link opens in a new window
Formerly called: Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database.
This evidence based practice (EBP) healthcare database includes nursing, medicine, and allied health focused evidence based recommended practices, evidence summaries, best practice information sheets, systematic reviews, consumer information sheets, systematic review protocols, and technical reports.

Dissertations and Theses Global from Proquest
Searches doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Extensive North American coverage, lesser European coverage. Full-text availability varies by author's permission.
Sage Journals Online from Sage
Searches full text articles of SAGE journals (approximately 900 titles). Emphasis on the health and social sciences. 1982 - present.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) from I.C.P.S.R.
Dataset related to substance abuse and mental health.
Most datasets and documentation can be downloaded, from on campus computers, for research and personal use. When retrieving data users will be asked to create a "MyData Account" and provide information to verify their Marquette status.
UpToDate
Evidence-based content on 10,000+ medical topics, drug and patient information, and medical calculators.
Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository
Includes nursing-related research materials in both abstract-only and full-text formats. Search options include browsing by evidence level.