Many ProQuest databases include a method of locating citing articles.

Interdisciplinary Databases

    Alt Press Watch

    Dissertations and Theses

ProQuest Central (Includes the following and more)
ABI/INFORM
Accounting & Tax Periodicals
Banking Information Source
Career and technical education
Criminal Justice Periodicals
Education
Health & Medical
Psychology
Research Library
Science
Social Sciences

Social Science Databases

EconLit

Social Services Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Science Databases:

     Water Resources Abstracts

This is a fairly recent search feature in ProQuest.  Cited references in scholarly journals are covered from 2007 with a some back to 2003; dissertations are covered from 2008.

Step 1. From the advanced search screen, choose "Author-AU" in the drop down menu. After that selection the "Look up Authors" link appears (see box below). If you are only searching for citations to an author's journal articles, the search can be limited to Scholarly Journals, located below the search boxes. Peer Reviewed is also an option.

*Note: success with this method varies by how common an author's name is. If an author search results in too many false hits, it may be best to search for article titles using the "Document Title" field limit in the drop down menu rather than author. Although this will entail more searches, it may ultimately be more efficient. Another option is to narrow results by subject, which may prove effective in eliminating false hits (see the right side bar in the image in Step 5 below).

Step 2. Enter the last name and first initial. It seems best to leave the default "Contains" limit.  Click Find.

Step 3.  Select the appropriate versions of the author name and click Add to Search.

Step 4.  Back on the advanced search screen click Search.

Step 5. If the article has been cited by other documents in ProQuest databases, Cited by (N) will appear below the citation.

 Step 6.Clicking on the Cited by N link will produce a list of those records. A citing dissertation can be identified by Diss.

Reminder: If the citing journal is tracked by Web of Science, it may also be found/counted in a WoS cited reference search.  Citations in Dissertations will not be found in Web of Science results but may be found by a Google Scholar search.