Digital Media: Course Guide DGMD 4810

Searching for Books offering critiques and other Information about TV or Radio Shows

Marqcat
Search for your television or radio show by keyword. Put quotes around phrases.
more...less...
Select keyword searching. Type in your show's name. Use quotation marks to search for a phrase.
Google Books
Search thousands of books for information regarding your TV or radio show. Use "Search within" box to search for specific words in books. Not all pages are visible in Google Books. Check Marqcat to see if Marquette Libraries own the book.
more...less...
If Marquette's Libraries do not own the book, you may request a copy of the book via the Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service.
Milwaukee Public Library
Another option is to check to see if Milwaukee Public Library has a copy of a particular book.
more...less...
If you live in Milwaukee county, you can get a free MPL card. See: http://www.mpl.org/library/library_card/ for more information on how to get a card.

Searching for Reviews of TV and Radio Shows / Ratings

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archival resource for the historical study of the entertainment industry in the U.S. and U.K. Provides information on industry economics as well as on TV series, plays, films, musicians, record labels, etc. Covers industry’s impact on political, cultural and social change and the creation of subcultures and youth movements. Included are full-text back files of major trade magazines: Billboard (1894-2000), Variety (1905-2000), Broadcasting (1931-2000), etc. and consumer and fan magazines.
New York Times (1851-2015) from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and images; in PDF format. 1851-2015.
Los Angeles Times 1881-1991 from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive 1881-1988.

The World Almanac and Book of Facts
Call Number: AY67.N5 W7
Check MARQCAT record for availability.

Searching for Peer Review Journal Articles

Film & Television Literature Index from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliographic resource for film and television studies. This database includes 243 actively indexed and abstracted journals, including 96 unique full-text journals. It covers cinematography, film theory, preservation, production, reviews, screenwriting, and technical aspects of film and television. It also includes Variety movie reviews dating back to 1914 and over 65,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Communication Source from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communications Abstracts have merged. Communication Source offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Academic Search Complete from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Searches 7000+ journals and magazines across all disciplines, mostly full-text. Emphasis on scholarly journals. 1985 - present.
JSTOR from JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Broad collection of full-text scholarly journals (approximately 2700 titles). Discipline coverage uneven and usually does not include the most-recent three years.
Humanities International Complete from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Searches 2,000+ humanities journals and and books from U.S. and international sources. Includes creative works including poetry, fiction, and works of art.

MLA International Periodicals from Ebsco
Though mainly an index to find literature critiques, this source also includes some references that critique television shows.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Television Shows, 1925 Through 2010 by Vincent Terrace
Call Number: Online only
Publication Date: 2011
Check MARQCAT record for availability.
Encyclopedia of Radio by Christopher H. Sterling (Editor)
Call Number: TK 6544 .M84 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Unlimited user license. Check MARQCAT record for print availability.

Culture / Society / Events by Specific Decades - American Decades

The following volumes are only available in print and can be found in the Raynor Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Raynor Library.

Books are arranged by call number. If you are not able to locate these resources in the Raynor Reference area, ask at the Information Desk.

The following reference books analyze periods of contemporary American social history during specific decades. Each volume contains a chronology of the decade; subject chapters with background essays; subject-specific chronologies and alphabetically arranged items depicting the people, ideas, and facts important during that period.

American Decades 1950-1959
Call Number: Raynor Reference E169.12 .A4195 1994
Publication Date: 1994
Check MARQCAT record for availability.
American Decades, 1960-1969
Call Number: Raynor Reference E169.12 .A4196 1995
Publication Date: 1995
See Marqcat record for full bibliographical information.
American Decades, 1970-1979
Call Number: Raynor Reference E169.12 .A4197 1995
Publication Date: 1995
See Marqcat record for full bibliographical information.
American Decades, 1980-1989
Call Number: Raynor Reference E169.12 .A4198 1996
Publication Date: 1996
See Marqcat record for full bibliographical information.

Sources to locate biographical information

Biography in Context from Gale This link opens in a new window Text, video, audio clips and images about 250,000+ people from throughout history, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Formerly Biography Resource Center.

Contact Info

If you are not able to find resources for your topic, you can contact Rose Trupiano, Research & Instructional Services Librarian. - rose.trupiano@marquette.edu ; 414-288-5998