Digital Media: Multimedia Resources

Need Help?

Multimedia Databases and Resources

Docuseek2 from Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
1200+ streaming films covering a wide variety of topics and social issues.

Literature Online (LION) Multimedia
Contains audio recordings of over 35 Shakespeare plays and audio recordings of poetry (some read by the poets themselves.)
Multimedia Research Guide
Contains links to numerous archives containing audio recordings, images, and videos. Also provides information copyright and fair use of multimedia and how to cite multimedia.

Naxos Spoken Word Library from Naxos This link opens in a new window
Access limited to 3 users at a time.
Collection of streaming audiobooks, including classic literary and philosophical works; some foreign-language texts. Mobile app available for Apple devices only; you must create an individual account.
Off campus account setup requires site registration code available here.
American classics, German classics, plays, philosophical works, and musical biographies including notable authors such as Plato, Austen, Chaucer, Dickens, Shakespeare, Nietzsche, Goethe, & many more. Many recordings are accompanied by on-screen text. No minimum user requirements and apps are available for the iPhone and iPod Touch.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Allows searching of NBC evening news programs (1968 to present) and CNN broadcasts (1995 to date.) Also provides indexing of news broadcasts for ABC and CBS (both 1968 to present), and Fox News (2004 to present.)