Access limited to 1 user at a time.
Provides access to The Dictionary of Art, with over 45,000 signed articles and images on every aspect of the visual arts. Content updated 3x/year. Includes several other art reference works.

The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world.

From the Getty Museum

9,000 artists listed. 2,900 art sites indexed

"Covering Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present day. It contains over 2,500 clear and concise entries on styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries. It also includes biographical entries for artists, critics, collectors, dealers, and patrons, with places and full dates of birth and death."

"1,800 terms used in the wide variety of visual media that makes up the art world."

Online version of the 34 Volume set. Part of Oxford Art Online. Bound volumes in Raynor Ref. N31 .D5 1996

Included in Oxford Art Online database

"Guide to the art of the Western world"

"A comprehensive guide to international developments in graphic design.

"The nation's leading nonprofit organization for advancing the arts in America."

Digitized Images from the Collection

Houses materials on fine art and architecture, painting, sculpture, photography and more.

Reference Materials on the various genres of the visual and performing arts. Special Collections include the Architectural Collection; Auction Catalogs; Collectibles and Artists' Books

Search over 2.3 million records, with 280,000 images, video and sound files from dozens of Smithsonian museums, archives, and libraries.