In This Guide:

Why background?

Background sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) provide well established summary and factual information. Useful for:

basic concepts and established viewpoints
historical context and relationships to other topics
specialized terms and definitions
data, facts, formulas

Spanish Literature and Language: Encyclopedias ...

Guide to finding literary criticism (journal articles / books) on Spanish, Hispanic American literature, Spanish language newspaper articles, information about Spanish /Hispanic American culture and linguistics of Spanish language.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries for Literature

The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature by Roberto Gonzalez Echevarría (Editor); Enrique Pupo-Walker (Editor)
Call Number: Raynor Reference PQ7081 .A1 .C35

Publication Date: 1996

Check MARQCAT for print availability.
3 vol. set: . 1. Discovery to modernism -- v. 2. The twentieth century -- v. 3. Brazilian literature.
Diccionario de Literatura Latinoamericana by Cella, Susana
Call Number: Raynor Reference PQ7081 .C379 1998

Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Diccionario de Literature Española e Hispanoamericana by Gullón, Ricardo, ed.
Call Number: Reference PQ6006 .D6 1993

Check MARQCAT for print availability.
2 vol. set.
Dictionary of the Literature of the Iberian Peninsula by Germán Bleiberg (Editor); Maureen Ihrie (Editor); Janet Perez (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Raynor PQ6006 .D54 1993

Publication Date: 1993

Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Encyclopedia of Hispanic-American Literature by Luz Elena Ramirez
Call Number: Raynor Reference - PS153.H56 R36 2008

Publication Date: 2008

Check MARQCAT for print availability
Hispanic Literature Criticism: Supplement
Call Number: Lemonis PQ7081 .A1 H5732 1999

Publication Date: 1999

Check MARQCAT for print availability.
2 vol. set.

Cultural Studies

Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture
Call Number: ONLINE SOURCE

ISBN: 0684315904

Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures by Daniel Balderston; Mike Gonzalez; Ana M. Lopez
Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture by Eamonn Rodgers (Editor); Professor Eamonn Rodgers (Editor)
Publication Date: 1999