Theology & Religious Studies: Encyclopedias ...

Need Help?

Artwork

Juan Gerson, "Noah's Ark" Tecamachalco, Puebla, Mexico (1562): Art Museum Image Gallery.

Encyclopedia of Religion
An online encyclopedia about religion with a cross-cultural approach. Originally published in 2005 in 15 volumes.

New Catholic Encyclopedia (2nd edition) and Supplements from Gale This link opens in a new window
Search the full-text of the revised encyclopedia and its supplements. Entries cover people, institutions, cultural phenomena, scientific developments, and social movements affecting the life of the Catholic Church over two millennia.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books in the Bible
Specialized reference tool providing information on each of the canonical books of the Bible, major apocryphal books of the New and Old Testaments, important noncanonical texts, and thematic essays on topics such as canonicity, textual criticism, and translation.

Encyclopaedia Judaica from Gale This link opens in a new window
Electronic version of the second edition.
Gale eBooks from Gale This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 400+ resources covering a broad selection of topics.
Covers arts, business, communication, drama, history, medicine, religion, social science and more.
Brill's Medieval Reference Library from Brill This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text of four encyclopedias: Brill's Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages Online; Encyclopaedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles; Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage; and Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle. Each title can be searched separately or as a group.
Encyclopaedia of Islam from Brill This link opens in a new window
Online versions of the first edition of this encyclopedia, a standard in its field.
Searches are possible in both English and Arabic transcription. 1st edition published 1913-1936.

Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception
Provides in-depth knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible in its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity. Documents the history of the Bible's reception in the Christian churches and the Jewish Diaspora; in Islam, in other religious traditions and current religious movements, Western and non-Western alike, as well as in literature, art, music, and film. Note: This encyclopedia is currently not complete as it only includes entries A- Hi; it will be updated several times a year until its completion.

Oxford Bibliographies Online - Biblical Studies from Oxford Press This link opens in a new window
Developed cooperatively with scholars worldwide Oxford Bibliographies Online - Biblical Studies includes new discoveries, methodologies, and perspectives continually being brought to bear on the interpretation of the Bible.

Theologische Realenzyklopädie Online
Theological research including Old and New Testaments, church history, systematic and practical theology and integrates Jewish studies, religious studies and philosophy.
Textual History of the Bible
Cross-searchable platform with all available information regarding the textual history, textual character, translation techniques, manuscripts, and the importance of each textual witness for each book of the Hebrew Bible, including its deutero-canonical scriptures. Includes articles on the history of research, the editorial histories of the Hebrew Bible, as well as other aspects of text-critical research and its auxiliary fields, such as papyrology, codicology, and linguistics.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity
Available from 2 separate vendors. 2014.
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
Unlimited user license. 3rd edition, 2005.
Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Church
Single user license. 2011.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Unlimited user license. Check MARQCAT record for print availability and location.
Encyclopedia of Martin Luther and the Reformation
3 user license. 2017.
Religion Past and Present
Evangelical Dictionary of Theology
Single user license. 2017.
Zondervan Dictionary of Bible and Theology Words
Single user license. 2002.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology
Single user license. 2011.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible
Specialized reference tool providing information on each of the canonical books of the Bible, major apocryphal books of the New and Old Testaments, important noncanonical texts, and thematic essays on topics such as canonicity, textual criticism, and translation.

Gale eBooks from Gale This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 400+ resources covering a broad selection of topics.
Covers arts, business, communication, drama, history, medicine, religion, social science and more.

Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception
Provides in-depth knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible in its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity. Documents the history of the Bible's reception in the Christian churches and the Jewish Diaspora; in Islam, in other religious traditions and current religious movements, Western and non-Western alike, as well as in literature, art, music, and film. Note: This encyclopedia is currently not complete as it only includes entries A- Hi; it will be updated several times a year until its completion.
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Biblical Studies
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Biblical studies.

Anchor Bible Dictionary from Logos Research Systems
Available on the Legacy Apps computer in Raynor Library. Ask at the Information Desk.
Digital version of the widely used Biblical reference work.